Day 15…

…aka parkrun 2.  For those of you who missed parkrun the first, I came 199th out of 203 after narrowly missing out on the hotly contested 198th place.  Would today be any better?  Would I record a better time?  Would I just throw my alarm clock across the room and think “s*d it, I’ll go next week”?

Well, the results are in.  I did go.  I came 185th out of 196 and recorded a personal best (woo!) of 32m56s.  Hmmm.  Don’t think I’ll go for lottery sponsorship just yet 🙂

Got home to a cup of tea and waiting icepacks for my poor aching shins.

Which sets me up nicely for a lazy weekend hanging around the house pestering my other half.  Much to his disgust and my amusement (\hehe)

©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 15…

  1. Ah … the pea-pack … excellent remedy and gives you an excuse to put your feet up and not do anything for a while!

    Well done on getting a PB! It is worth it to go regularly and see the results!

  2. Well done on your pb today! Hope your shins feel better for tomorrows run.

  3. runorgocrazy says:

    What a fab pb, well done!

  4. sooozie says:

    I had to do the same after my run yesterday, except that they were bags of potato waffles which didn’t work particularly well.
    Well done on your pb!

  5. Your ice packs have just reminded me that I’ve got some spinach we can have for supper! Well done on your parkrun pb! Hope the shins feel better tomorrow.

  6. shazruns says:

    An improvement well done. Keep meaning to check out parkruns

  7. vivplods says:

    Hi, well done on your PB. 5Ks are really hard – no time for faffing around, you just have to dig in! I had sore shins a couple of years ago when I was doing marathon training. When I went for sport massage they said my calves were really tight, and that the sore shins might hav been caused by this tightness radiating round to the shin (the pain was om the inside of the shin, around halfway round the lower leg). Might be worth asking a physio if the pain continues. An exercise to stretch the shins is like kneeling, but with your bum right down (i.e. sitting on your heels). Hope that makes sense – will try to find a pic!

  8. stephenamp says:

    Wahey! Great improvement, well done on the PB. Our local supermarket had soldout of frozen spinach when we popped over tonight – now I know where it’s all gone!

  9. fortnightflo says:

    Yay – well done on your PB!!!! These park run things are a bit addictive aren’t they – think I’ll be going back next week too to try to improve on my time…enjoy your weekend with hubby Cx

  10. Jules says:

    Congrats on your PB!
    Where are you ParkRunning?
    Jules (@2011miles)

  11. Yay for personal bests! Well done. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Going home | abradypus

Leave a Reply

