Day 19…

…I have a plan.  Thank you for your suggestions about how to keep my motivation going in February.  I think that I’m going to keep it very simple and make my basic February challenge to run a parkrun every Saturday. 

I’ll save Beast in the East for another time, keep matching my Janathon mileage in reserve for a longer month (March perhaps) and defer joining a running club until hell freezes over.  You all make your running clubs sound wonderful, motivating and fun, but to me they seem as intimidating as walking into Evans Cycles with my trusty Brompton.

As for today, a short km run from the station to work in the morning, and a cycle home in the evening.

©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 19…

  1. shazruns says:

    With you on the running club issue, I do actually belong to one and they are really nice and welcoming but I still dont go – maybe if fsater I would make more of an effort. Still not quite decided what to do in Feb, may just try and run lots with concentration on speed so come June am very fit and slim!

  2. iliketocount says:

    Never have got around to a running club, didn’t go last night but it’s as close as I’ve ever got. Promise I’ll try one this year, even if only once, and let you know what it’s like.
    February challenge…will involve two races, the Janathon meet up, some cycling and weights to put on the weight I’m losing running around every night!
    As with Shaz, focus will turn to speed…

  3. Weekly parkrun plus your comute sounds good. Without a challenge I’m also a sloth at heart and think small steps are more likely to be kept to!

  4. Simple plans are always a good idea. Will you keep blogging? I hope so. 🙂

  5. fortnightflo says:

    lol – a grand plan – maybe you could do a tour of all the parkruns in the uk!

  6. sooozie says:

    Don’t be worried about joining a running club. I have been a member of the BRJ road running club for a year now. I am the slowest in the club but someone always stays back and runs with me and the faster ones always loop back so that we stay as a group. They are all really friendly and encouraging and don’t seem to mind that they have to keep coming back for me! It means that the speedier ones get a bit of a longer run which they are happy to do.

  7. LilMissKaty says:

    I like this plan. Maybe I’ll join you 🙂 After all it’s only an hour on a Saturday, sounds easy enough don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

