Day 29…

…Basingstoke parkrun.  A nice course and a friendly bunch of runners – if you find yourself in the vicinity on a Saturday at 9am then it’s worth checking out.  2.5 gently undulating laps across playing fields and through trees on a combination of surfaces.

I didn’t push myself too hard (there are, after all, two days of Janathon left) so I’m not expecting a world beating time*.  I was revelling in the knowledge that I can now ‘pootle’ on foot.  I have found a pace that qualifies as running, but which I feel I can keep up indefinitely.  Pre Janathon, running always left me feeling like death, so to know that I’ve found a comfortable base pace is really exciting.

On a different subject, some of you queried what I meant by the baby peppers you find inside big peppers.  It’s possible that ‘pepper tumours’ would be a more accurate description, but it is also considerably less appetising.  Anyway, they look like this…

 

…though the jaundice yellow is more a function of my photography skills than the peppers themselves.  Here they are again, after antibiotics…

©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©©

*This news, just in.  Time was 32:52, four seconds faster than my previous best.  WooHoo!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 29…

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Um I knew what you meant but it has to say, you’re right they don’t look too appetising!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Wooohoo – you beat your PB AND YOU WEREN’T EVEN TRYING!! Imagine what you’ll do when you DO try. Great job – reward yourself with wine!

  3. shazruns says:

    Well done on your park run and for beating your time,Janathon is good for that it seems

  4. A PB just tootling, imagine what you could have done if you didn’t have tired Janathon Legs!

  5. runorgocrazy says:

    WOW well done and you weren’t trying!!!!!

  6. The more you just ‘tootle’ the better you get! Well done on a PB.
    Half the battle about running is finding a tootling pace you can keep up for mile after mile …. It took me a while to work it out but I could never go more than a mile or two until I did!

  7. p.s you pootle I tootle!

  8. jogblog says:

    I call them baby peppers too but I find them a bit creepy when I see them like they’re an abortion or something.

Leave a Reply

