Febtathlon – rules one and two

Cake of Good Hope has suggested that Febtathlon might be a way of avoiding going cold turkey after Janathon. In the absence of any rules, I’ve decided to don the mantle of my five year old niece and make some up. Following her example, I shall add ever more complicated rules over the course of the month, and at the end I shall have won!

So. Let’s start simply.

Rule 1

Run every day in February.

  • Feb 1: Ran to work, cycled home.
  • Feb 2: Cycled to work, ran home.
  • Feb 3: Ran to work, cycled home.
  • Feb 4: Don’t want to run.  Still want to win.  Enter Rule 2.

Rule 2

Given the choice between a ‘token effort’ run and real exercise of a different sort, it is okay to opt for real exercise of a different sort.

  • Feb 4: Cycle to and from work.

Job done!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in febtathlon, janathon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Febtathlon – rules one and two

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Love it! I laughed out loud. So as you’ll be the winner what will be the prize? Or can we decide?

  2. Maggiee says:

    Yes! You need a prize… especially for the winner… maybe a special prize that you know you really like!! 🙂

  3. shazruns says:

    Rule 3 If token run or real exercise are not possible due to time restraints, then eating chocolate will count as exercise for this day. The prize clearly will be to award oneself a day on the couch with girlie movies and glossy magazines.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Haha!! I wish I had kept up the every day think but I don’t think I’d have managed the 8 miles Thursday if I had, and I’d like to do more longer runs. Good luck with that then!

  5. Ooh, I love the idea of making up rules as you go along. You are a winner!

  6. Ha. Loving, and anticipating the many future rule posts already!

  7. Pingback: Febtathlon – rule four | abradypus

  8. Pingback: Ouch! | abradypus

  9. Pingback: The spirit of Febtathlon* | abradypus

Leave a Reply

