A plod, a sprint and an impulse decision.

The run into work sometimes feels interminable and this morning was one of those times.  Slow, laboured and plodding would all be perfect descriptions.

My legs felt like lead and I paused at every bus stop praying for a bus to put me out of my misery.

Left foot.  Right foot.  Left foot.  Right foot.  Left foot.  Right foot.  Pause to pray for bus.  Left foot.  Right foot.  Left foot.  Right foot.  Left foot.  Right foot.  Pause to pray for bus.  Left foot.  Right foot…..

And then.  A miracle.  

Just before I got to the point where I start my cool down walk, I decided to try for a sprint finish.  Three minutes of speed, I thought, to end on a high.

Woo hoo!  5:31 per km.  That’s a 55minute 10k.  So chuffed was I by this that I signed up for the Bupa London 10km.  Fool!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, febtathlon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A plod, a sprint and an impulse decision.

  1. shazruns says:

    OMG thats you, me, forthnight flo and runorgocrazy doing Bupa 10K, maybe we should set up a Janathon splinter group and try and get more Janathoners to join uo for Bupa. Well done on the final sprint

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Yay – another friend at BUPA 10k!!

    Have to say tho I saw that runkeeper screen shot, saw the pace and thought jeez she’ll be done the 5k on Saturday before I’m even half way round….then realised its in km!!! Phew…. blinkin great pace tho – eight and a half minute miles at the quick bit!

    • abradypus says:

      lol – I think because I’m only looking at shorter distances (5km, 10km) I work better in km. I’ll leave miles for those of you with VLM tops by the ton.

Leave a Reply

