An alien has taken over my body…

…that is the only possible explanation!  I am a sloth.  When I took time off between university and working life, did I go travelling?  No.  Did I volunteer for a worthy cause?  No.  Did I do anything even remotely useful?  No.  I read and I slept and I indulged in baths that lasted for a minimum of three hours.  And I didn’t get bored and I didn’t feel guilty.

So the only possible explanation for the fact that I have run six parkruns in a row, signed up for a running workshop, entered the Bupa 10km and put my name in the hat for the Royal Parks Half Marathon is that an alien has taken over my body.  I don’t give it long.  I will overcome it.  And the first step will be to invoke rule two of Febtathlon and cycle home instead of running. 

Ha! 

That’ll show it!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, chirunning, febtathlon, parkrun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An alien has taken over my body…

  1. Andy says:

    I’ll put the kettle on then 😉

  2. shazruns says:

    Maybe you are mutating from sloth to cheetah! Half marathon entry impressive.

  3. Cath says:

    I think your time off was entirely worthwhile. And while it’s clear to me that aliens have indeed taken over your body, the relationship may be symbiotic. God knows I could do with similar aliens (although they show no signs of manifesting). More power to your elbow (or other joints).

  4. I think my alien is more easily fatigued than yours … and it’s nocturnal.

  5. kathryn says:

    You’re really showing that alien by cycling home . . . ‘cos that’s such a slothful thing to do . . . Great list of events you and the alien have planned though.

    • abradypus says:

      lol – it’s a flat route and I’m really more of a pootler than a cyclist proper. As for the events, I have to wait until the ballot is drawn to find out whether the half-marathon is on. I’m crossing my fingers, but am not sure which outcome I’m rooting for 😉

  6. runorgocrazy says:

    That’s exciting, the royal parks was a lovely run(sorry race!) last year. I might put my name down as well…… this is getting catching!

Leave a Reply

