Chicken or egg?

Which comes first?  Speed or endurance?  At the end of May, I want to be running 10km in 70mins.  Today, I ran 7.25km in 56mins.  Which would equate to 10km in 77mins.  Should I concentrate on building up my distance and then start seeing what I can shave off the time, or should I concentrate on shaving off the time and then building up the distance?  Or is there a way of doing both at the same time?

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in bupa 10k and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicken or egg?

  1. Andy says:

    Being a slob I can’t help with that one!

  2. runorgocrazy says:

    I think(in my non-professional at all, opinion!) that you can do both. I have found that if I concentrate on endurance without any speedwork and I use the term loosely, overall I slow up so if one of your other runs during that week has some level of speedwork, then I reckon you could do both? I don’t really plan so I can’t be sure that would help but I can tell you that I slowed up when I was just doing endurance.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    My training plan for the 10 miles includes one run for each – a long run to build endurance or time on your feet as my trainer calles it, and a tempo/speedwork/hilly run to increase speed. SO, I think you can work on both at the same time. Good luck.

  4. shazruns says:

    Yep with everyone else, can do both but not on the same run, running long and fast may kill you so alternating type of runs will legs a break and the speed will come as your legs adust to running faster, advice from the armchair!

  5. Cath Unsworth says:

    Echoing Andy, me neither!

  6. Speed? What is this thing ‘speed’ that you speak of?

  7. Also agree with a mix of long slow runs and some short speed ones it also makes it more intersting! I found that the more times I ran the distance (and now, longer than the distance) the easier and faster it gets.

Leave a Reply

