Before the break

When I’m queen of the world, I will ban the phrase “before the break” (and its siblings “after the break” and “previously on”) from all TV scripts for the rest of eternity.

There is nothing more guaranteed to make me yell rude things at the television than the narrator telling me what happened before the advert break.  I know what happened before the advert break.  I was watching what happened before the advert break.  I can remember what happened before the advert break.  Stop padding out your under-length programme by repeating what happened before the advert break.

Actually, I may also ban it from books as well, especially those by Jean Auel, but that is probably a rant for another day.

Anyway.  My car had to stay in the garage overnight, but was fixed by Wednesday, so I went to my conference on Thursday as planned and then on to a friend’s for a visit (thank you friend).  Although I didn’t get any exercise in at all on Wednesday, I did swim for an hour or so last night (don’t ask how many lengths, I never count) and went to the gym this morning.  I managed 1km / 15mins on the cross trainer, 2kms / 13 mins on the treadmill (yawn) and then I cheated and did 30 mins of my Nike workout.

Weather and traffic permitting, I’m planning to do the Cambridge parkrun tomorrow, and normal service should resume.

For some reason I can’t post comments on blogspot blogs at the moment, but if I could, I’d be saying good luck to ksweeswee (who is running the Paris half marathon this weekend), and to the magathon (who is running the Trimpell 20, whatever that may be).  Good luck and happy running!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in march madness, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Before the break

  1. Andy says:

    Missing you 😦

    (Was that the right comment to leave?)

  2. shazruns says:

    God he is so lying!!! I can tell. Good luck with Cambridge wish I could join you as the nearest one to me. Hope the weather is good. Enjoy.

  3. Maggiee says:

    Good luck with Cambridge… Thanks for the good luck message for Sunday… and Thank you! I am so glad it’s not just me! Seriously… how short do they think our attention spans really are!!!

  4. oldbagrunning says:

    wow! you have been one busy lady 🙂 good luck with the parkrun!

Leave a Reply

