First steps in stalking

I am lucky enough to know two people who have a knack for flapjack: my mother-in-law and the friend I was staying with last night.  So as I set off for Cambridge this morning, I was weighed down with two large tubs of mouthwateringly delicious flapjacks [and yes, I promise that Andy’s reached him intact].

As I waited in the Milton Country Park carpark munching my way through my tub, I armed myself with photos of two Janathoners, sooozie and tonyparkrunner, who I thought might be at the parkrun.  Heading towards the start, I scanned the faces of the gathering crowd.  Seeing a likely looking chap, I sidled up nervously. 

“Are you tonyparkrunner?”, I asked. 

“Yes”, he replied, looking startled. 

Hurrah!  Contact made!  We chatted as we waited for 9 o’clock and he introduced me to a couple of other runners from his running club.  Sooozie was volunteering and was off somewhere, marshalling.

 [Ooops – just hit Publish, not Save]

After the run, Tony introduced me to Sooozie and we went to grab a coffee.  We were joined by Sue, a runner with an impressive number of marathons under her belt.  I really enjoyed meeting Soozie and Tony (thank you to both for being so friendly to a slightly mad stalker).  If you ever find yourself in Cambridge on a Saturday, I recommend the parkrun and its runners.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in march madness, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First steps in stalking

  1. That sounds like me at the Janathon lunch. I’m still very relieved that you all weren’t the people dressed as condoms!

  2. Andy says:

    I’m married to a stalker! Should I be worried?

    I think I ought to start talking to random women and see how you like it 😉

  3. shaz says:

    I love flapjacks lucky you. Great stalking technique.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Mmmm flapjacks! Well done on making the committment to de-clutter and become a putter not a leaver. Now, when are you going to start??

  5. jensruns2011 says:

    If you’re ever in Cambridge again for the parkrun let me know and I’ll try and make it as would be great to meet you! I have only managed the Cambridge parkrun once so far this year (!) but yeah totally agree nice run and people 🙂

  6. Pingback: Stalking 101 | abradypus

Leave a Reply

