Somewhere in a parallel universe…

…a very distressed abradypus is blogging about arriving home after her run to find that her backpack had come open, her boots and handbag had fallen out and she had no house keys and couldn’t get in the front door.

Fortunately, in this universe, about 6 minutes into my run I became aware of a faint voice saying “excuse me, excuse me” that turned out to belong to an indescribably lovely schoolgirl running after me carrying the contents of my backpack.

Thank you, indescribably lovely schoolgirl.  May goodness and mercy follow you all the days of your life.

Thank you also to the car driver coming out of his driveway who reversed a little so that I could plod on without changing my direction or pace.

And thank you to the approaching runner who sailed past me with a massively encouraging grin and a big thumbs up.

And thank you to the kind pedestrian who heard me wheezing up behind her and stepped slightly to one side to let me pass.

And finally, thank you to my wonderful husband who deferred emptying the compost bin until I was home in case I needed him to let me in the front door because I’d buried my housekeys.

I only hope that my counterpart in that parallel universe has as thoughtful an other half.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in march madness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Somewhere in a parallel universe…

  1. Kaye says:

    I love days like this. They happen so rarely but restore your faith in the world for a little while. You must have done something good to deserve it!

  2. Maggiee says:

    your day has just given me a warm glow inside… lovely. 🙂

  3. What a lovely post 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. jensruns2011 says:

    Aah, how lovely! 🙂

  5. fortnightflo says:

    What a great story, I’ll bet you feel all warm and squidgy inside now…I feel a bit teary just reading it but that could be the PMT.

  6. oldbagrunning says:

    restores your faith in humankind! have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

