Feeling groovy

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I like parkruns.  As my weekly runs are so dull (no canals, no moors, no peaks), I am adding variety to my running by trying different parkruns.

So far, I’ve done 21 different parkruns.  Only 30 people in the world have run more.  Now, I’m never going to win any prizes for speed, and it’s unlikely that I will ever set the world on fire with my endurance, but I have found one running challenge that I can do.  So although my head is well aware that driving 50 miles to run 5km is a daft thing to do, it’s not something I’m going to stop any time soon.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Feeling groovy

  1. shazruns says:

    Daft? Yes, but dont stop as we love reading about them!

  2. Steve says:

    That’s really impressive. They’re all set in nice places to it’s a good way to see some of the better parts of different places… just wish I’d thought of park runs when I’ve been traveling places. What a great memory to take from every new place you visit!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done you! where next? have you done the Banstead woods one?

  4. Impressive – go for it!
    I really must try one myself soon. If I can help you get to the IOW one in the summer let me know!

  5. ewoodeson says:

    That’s awesome that is. Good work.
    If you ever do any in Oxfordshire let me know and I’ll come and join you!

  6. lazybetty says:

    no wonder you are feeling groovy!

  7. Ooh is Saturday going to be number 22? I’ll be in the presence of a pro! 🙂

  8. Super idea! There was a 5k in my local park on Sunday, and I almost went, but decided on a long 10 miler instead. ‘Collecting’ parkruns is just a brilliant idea-keep it going. How long till you’re number 1 in the world?

  9. sooozie says:

    That is fantastic! And it was nice meeting you at the Cambridge parkrun. Would be great to do the one in Australia one day.

    • abradypus says:

      There are two, I think. So a 9 day trip, Friday to Saturday… Aaargh! Don’t get me started. I’ve already been eyeing up flights to Denmark!

  10. fortnightflo says:

    Fabulous going – I reckon you could be top 10 by the end of the year. When do you think you’ll make it up to MK? I’m free 11th, 18th June then 9th and 16th of July. Beds with cat included for the night before!

    • abradypus says:

      11th June is Brockwell Park with Disjointed Tales. 9th of July is the Juneathon picnic. 16th July is Southampton or Poole, but 18th June’s looking good…

  11. Bad Wabbit says:

    That is a very impressive statistic L.A. Have you done Bromley Parkrun? That’s our local one (me and @zoecakes75) but we haven’t been brave enough to go just yet. Seems crazy to drive 30 minutes to run 30 minutse. But I guess you’ve gone WAY beyond that rationalising principle.

    • abradypus says:

      Nope. Bromley is still on my to do list.

      • Bad Wabbit says:

        OOh well let us know as you might kick-start us onto the world of Parkrunning. @disjointedtales was telling me today about your prospective run in the next couple of days – will be looking forward to comparing and contrasting your write-ups of the same event!! 🙂 x

  12. Valentines is my local one, i get down most weekends as a runner or volunteer – i’d love to run it with you when you tick it off the list!

  13. That’s brilliant! I’m still not brave enough to try either of my local ones (though you driving 50 miles puts my reluctance to drive 10 to shame…)

  14. Carl says:

    Still yet to head down to my local parkrun in Coventry. Must make it my July resolution!

Leave a Reply

