Mid-terrace pie

Another looooong day in the office.  Got in before eight.  Left after eight.  Fortunately I don’t often have to work such long days, which is just as well, as there’s a part of me that really resents spending more than twelve hours in the office.

At about half-six, I rang my OH to say I’d be working late, I’d probably be grumpy when I finally got home and not to worry about food because I’d fend.

I rang again at half-eight to say I was leaving, and he let slip that he’d been cooking.  And not just any old cooking.  Mid-terrace pie, my all-time favourite comfort food.

What is this mid-terrace pie?  It’s our veggie version of cottage pie, so named because we live in a mid-terrace not a cottage.

As for my run, inspired by all your supportive comments, I took care of that on the way home from the bus stop.  Work clothes, silly backpack and a brolly.  Pure Juneathon.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mid-terrace pie

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    What a lovely OH and I hope you don’t have anymore long days.

  2. shazruns says:

    Just as well not windy too or you could have floated off like Mary Poppins!

  3. Ross Hendry says:

    What goes in a mid-terrace pie? I could do with some of that.

  4. Rachel B says:

    Stylish.

    We had the meat version of mid terraced pie tonight. Except I only had new spuds so I suppose it was just mince and tatties!

  5. zoecakes says:

    The image of you running along under your brolly has just made me smile! 🙂

  6. Chris says:

    well done. you could survive in Holland with a running brolly!

  7. plustenner says:

    love the mid-terrace pie! what do you put in it?

    • abradypus says:

      It’s usually and onion, mushroom and tomato based sauce with either mixed beans or quorn. Today’s was a scrummy one with courgettes, aubergine and peppers.

  8. fortnightflo says:

    Mmm sounds tasty! I do love the fact you run home in your work clothes! Maybe you should try parkrunning in them!

  9. Maggiee says:

    Yum yum yummy yum!!! Super OH for knowing just what you needed!! 🙂

  10. jensruns2011 says:

    Ooh, I do like the sound of that mid-terrace pie. Bless him for looking after you and knowing just what you’d need. 🙂

  11. Men who can cook have always been a priority in my life, hang on to him! I always love to picture your run homes from work…I’d be the crabby old witch screaming abuse as I staggered through 🙂

  12. henniemavis says:

    I know cottage pie, but what the heck is a “brolly?” Quick thinking there, to run home from the bus stop… after such a long day, too!

Leave a Reply

