Hot, hot, hot!

I had a really nice day today.  I drove to Bushy Park for nine o’clock for the start of the longest parkrun.  Given that the furthest I’ve run in a day is 10km, and that today was going to be an absolute scorcher, I wasn’t sure quite how much running I’d do.  But I figured that even if all I managed was one parkrun, that was still my run for the day done.

All that changed by the end of run one.  As traffic and parking were expected to be difficult, when someone offered to give a couple of us a lift around the parkruns, I jumped at the chance, brushing aside the small detail that this committed me to the whole day.  Gulp.

So, how did we do?  Well, Rob (thank you, thank you, thank you for driving us round) managed all seven parkruns in full.  As did Merilyn, my fellow car-sharer.  I managed to run a bit of all seven, including two in full.  Runningfree will tell you that I ran 25km, but in truth it was nearer 20km, with 5km walking, as I did rather fade in the heat of the day.

I have blisters on my blisters, my left hip  isn’t talking to me, and I have caught the sun ever-so-slightly but that is a small price to pay for such a wonderful day in such great company.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hot, hot, hot!

  1. jensruns2011 says:

    Wow, well done, that’s brilliant! Sounds like it was a great day and definitely worth being part of 🙂

  2. Sounds like a brilliant day. You have done so well. Fantastic effort.

  3. Rachel B says:

    Wow well done! You did have twinkle in your eye so I thought you might! Sounds like a brilliant day I’m very jealous!!! Earned yourself an easy day tomorrow?

  4. You did very well, congratulations. Complete rest on Friday.

  5. jogblog says:

    Flipping heck, that is hardcore, well done!

  6. henniemavis says:

    You only walked a bit due to the temp? Bravo, as I’d have completely melted in high heat! I hope you went for an ice cream after 🙂

  7. shazruns says:

    Mad mad mad, so glad you enjoyed it though, rest week now I presume

  8. runtezza says:

    Phenomenal — 25k on impulse is pretty jaw-dropping. Hope the hip resumes talks soon!

  9. Maggiee says:

    I thInk you are amazing!!!!! 

  10. fortnightflo says:

    OMG you did it – what a fantastic achievement! Congratulations hon I hope you’re not too sore today xx

  11. Rob Curtis says:

    I had a great day too and was glad of yours and Meilyn’s company driving round. You did fantastically well to cover 25km. Don’t discount the walking. It all counts – lots of people walk in marathons and still get good times. 🙂

  12. Pingback: The longest parkrun | abradypus

Leave a Reply

