‘athoners galore

I spent the best part of yesterday in the company of ‘athoners, starting with insert clever running pun here who had invited me to join him at the Valentines parkrun. 

If you are fortunate to live nearby, check out Valentines parkrun.  Two essentially flat laps, trees, a lake, a bridge and tarmac underfoot.  With that, and the company of an ‘athoner, it was definitely worth the journey.

After the parkrun, I caught the train back to Liverpool Street, whence I ran to Hyde Park.  (OK.  I ran to Green Park, and then walked the last little bit.  Pedant!)

I pootled over to the bandstand, but couldn’t see anyone I recognised.  I sat down, only to have the chap on the next bench come over to ask if I was an ‘athoner, coz if so, he was unshod northerner.  Next to turn up was journalathon, closely followed by jog-blog, I like to countjens runs 2011, and there’s a six pack under here.

Four of us went for the (nearly) 5km run around the park, while the rest set out their picnic rugs.  By the time we got back, helsbels and travelling hopefully had arrived (fresh from Borough Market) and we were then joined by disjointed tales and it’s better to burn out than to fade away.

Cathy had ordered some great weather (rain threatened a couple of times, but ran away with its tail between its legs).  Travelling hopefully spoilt us all with flapjacks and chocolate cookies to die for and we sat and chatted and ate and drank and a good time was had by all.

Thanks, as ever, to Cathy for organising everything.  A picnic in the sun with ‘athoners is a great way to spend an afternoon.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon, parkrun, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘athoners galore

  1. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like lots of running you did too! 🙂

  2. jogblog says:

    You were extremely hardcore, running 3 miles after already running 7! Thanks for coming, lovely to see you again.

  3. Sounds like a good day was had (also saw the pics on Facebook)…It’s been torential rain up north but still managed a 5km run in tribute to the end of Juneathon 🙂 I’ll maybe try to make it next year.

  4. Hels says:

    Great to see you and everyone else! And you were extra hardcore. Let me know when you decide to try out Crystal Palace! x

  5. jensruns2011 says:

    Great running effort on Saturday from you. It was a lovely picinic on Saturday and great to meet everyone and finally put some faces to the blogs 🙂

  6. henniemavis says:

    I’m so jealous! I wish I could’ve ran then picnicked with you all. Glad the weather was fine & you had fun… without me… sniffle! 😉

  7. Wow – harcore amount of running, you must be training for HM or somethng. I was sorry not to join you all for what souded like a great picnic. Well done on another parkrun!

  8. fortnightflo says:

    Wow – briiliant amount of running your are putting me to shame. I hope you ate my portion of cake and cookies to sustain you. Am sorry I missed it as would have been good to catch up with the old athoners and meet some new ones. Ah well, theres always Janathon 2012!!!

Leave a Reply

