Hackney Marshes parkrun

I’m back from Canada.  Actually, I’ve been back for a while, but jetlag kicked in and the last three days have largely consisted of dozing on the sofa.

Last Saturday was my first parkrun miss since I found out about them in January.  Even for me, an ocean proved too far to travel just for a 5km run.  I consoled myself with some zip lining (which I would strongly recommend), some off-road sight seeing in the hills around Summerland BC (ditto), and a spa visit (a great way to fill in an 8 hour connection at Vancouver airport).

Which brings me to this morning’s parkrun.  As I went to bed last night, I was torn between Andover (leave at 7am) and Bushy (leave at 8am).  This morning, I settled on Grovelands (leave at 7.30am)…before deciding at the last minute to go to Hackney Marshes because the parking is easier.

I think that the Hackney Marshes route has changed fairly recently.  When I last investigated it, it was a single lap route starting on the western edge of the marshes.  My last-minute decision to go meant that I didn’t do more than glance at the webpage to check that it hadn’t been cancelled.  

When I got to what I thought was the starting point, I couldn’t see any evidence of a parkrun.  Slightly flustered, I pulled up the course details on my phone (oh the miracles of modern technology), only to find that the start was at the Hackney Marshes Centre.  On the plus side, my mistake did make for a great warm-up run.

The course is a there-and-back run around the edge of Hackney Marshes, so for those of you who avoid there-and-back runs like the plague, this is not the parkrun for you.  That said, it’s a nice enough route and the there-and-backness does allow you to fully appreciate the speed at which the really good runners belt round.

As usual, the volunteers were marvellous, and the results came through before 11.30am.  Thank you one and all.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hackney Marshes parkrun

  1. kieyeo says:

    Sounds like Canada was great! I’m not jealous at all! I think Hackney was forced into changing its original route as the Olympic park was gradually eating into it. Very rude.

  2. plustenner says:

    well done! hope you had a great time in Canada! where all did you go?

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Whoa that zipline is high – think I might have chickened out of that myself. The spa however – I’m surprised you managed to leave there and make it onto your flight! Well done on hitting 30 – 20 til your Tshirt – should be there well in time for Christmas. The trouble is which PR will they deliver it to???

  4. maggiee says:

    That’s a good point! How will they have a clue where you’ll be for your 50 t-shirt! I’m loving your park run journeys… are you planning on extending your coverage and eventually doing every park run in the country? That would be most magnificent!

  5. runtezza says:

    Welcome back — I’m surprised you didn’t just instigate a BC Parkrun there and then. Love the idea of a spa between flights — must try to plan my connections better in future!

  6. zoecakes says:

    Do you have a plan for this weekend’s Parkrun? I’m planning on making my first ever Parkun experience in Bromley on Saturday if you want to join me!

Leave a Reply

