Bromley parkfun (sic)

This morning, I headed to Bromley to meet zoecakes for her first parkrun.  We both arrived stupidly early, which gave us the chance to chat beforehand, both to each other and to a couple of other first-timers.

As my last three sessions have been club sessions, run more than a touch faster than my conversational pace, I was delighted to find out that Zoe was looking for a time of about 33 mins, as it meant that we could go round together and have a bit of a natter.

The downside of all the chatter is that I can’t offer you much detail about the course.  It’s two and a bit laps, mostly run on grass with some tarmac and hard gravel path thrown in.  There’s a river (I know this because I was told about it, not because I actually noticed it) and some of the path is tree-lined.  Marshalls are non-existant but the course is so well marked that they’d be redundant in any case.  And it’s flat.  As a pancake flat.  And, um, er, that’s about it.  Except for the refreshments at the end.  Which were extremely welcome.

Thank you to Zoe for suggesting that we run Bromley together and for letting me pick her brains about half-marathon training.  I had a great time.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, juneathon, parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bromley parkfun (sic)

  1. zoecakes says:

    Whoops, we didn’t pay much attention to the course did we?! 😉
    It was fun – thank you!

  2. If you go back to the Riddlesdown parkrun let me know so I can look out for you. I seem to have taken up residence there!

    • abradypus says:

      Will do. I only have six parkruns in London and the South East left and two of those are out of day trip range, so it won’t be long before I start repeating myself.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Sounds lovely (especially the bit about it being nice and flat!) and your last 3 sessions have been club runs – fab!

  4. shazrunsz says:

    Flat is goooooooooood.

  5. John says:

    I like your 5k strategy – find someone to chat to and enjoy the run 🙂

  6. swimcyclerun says:

    From time to time I love the social aspect of running… to try a different pace or someone else’s route or like you, to get another’s take on running (have a chat). Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

