Of pride and falls

After three weeks of going to running club, doing my long runs and basically sticking to my training plan, I thought I had the whole motivation thing licked.

Silly me.

I should have known better.

For tonight, running club was off.  It’s the last of their three mile handicap series, and as I’m not actually a member yet, haven’t done any of the other races in the series and would have struggled to get to the alternative venue, I decided to do my own thing.

Only by the time I left work, my inner sloth had worked its seductive magic and my plans for a 9km interval session had been downgraded to a three mile easy and then to a mile around the block and then to a complete pass.

Fortunately, a timely tweet from @knittingpenguin got me out the door for a 1.5mile fartlek run.  Short and sweet and admittedly not quite to plan, but I feel better for it, which is the thing that really matters.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of pride and falls

  1. John says:

    At least your inner running goddess came through and you went for a run in the end and not just any old run, a fartlek run, well done!!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    At least you got out and did something worthwhile with the time you had!

  3. Glad to be of service! I would have weaselled out of my run when I got home, but couldn’t for shame after tweeting you. So thank you!

  4. shazruns says:

    Motivation-why does it disappear some days. Well done on finding yours

  5. plustenner says:

    glad to hear you went out, especially as I tweeted for you to have a break – sorryy!!

  6. Chris says:

    sounds like a perfect alternative. rest is good!

  7. zoecakes says:

    ah, how easy it is easy to be tempted by the couch after a long day at work – thank goodness for the persuasion of friends! well done for getting out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

