Nonsuch parkrun

Yesterday was one of those days that was pretty much perfect.  It started off at Nonsuch parkrun, which is practically on my doorstep.  I parked at one of the many carparks and was looking round for the familiar parkrun huddle when an antipodean in a 50-club t-shirt asked if I was after parkrun.

Turns out, both he and his son are on the table of doom and also work on the general principle that if someone turns up at half eight for a parkrun then they are either a volunteer or new.

As we walked towards the course swapping tales of parkruns, it emerged that he is also an ultra runner.  Looking for an ultra run you can do from home?  How about running to Finsbury park, doing the parkrun and then running home?

Nonsuch parkrun is one of those with a split start and finish. We dropped our jackets at the finish [entirely at our own risk] and then wandered up towards the start.  Where we were greeted by [not the] Ron Hill.

The course itself is extremely family friendly with more children than you can shake a stick at* and has a good mix of hares and tortoises.  It bills itself as flat, and if you’re used to Banstead Woods, Richmond Park or Hampstead Heath then you would probably agree with that description.  However, if you usually run at Bushy, Wimbledon or Old Deer Park, you would be more likely to describe the course as gently undulating.  I’m just saying.

After the parkrun, it was down to my mother’s for lunch and then I popped in to see an old school friend who persuaded me to join her as she walked her two dogs.  Turns out that standing on a hill top in Sussex on a balmy Autumn evening is the perfect antidote to pre-race nerves and it rounded off a near perfect day.

*I am not advocating shaking sticks at children

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nonsuch parkrun

  1. plustenner says:

    wow! a parkrun and then a race all in one weekend, amazing!

  2. abradypus says:

    Addicted, that’s what I am. I did take it nice and slow though.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    LOL v funny. Well done on your half marathon time – looking forward to hearing all about it!

  4. Ha ha shaking sticks at children. Very funny

  5. zoecakes says:

    I love the fact that you’re always meeting that parkrunner called Ron Hill, but am always slightly disappointed that he’s not ‘the’ Ron Hill! 😉

  6. I met Ron Hill yesterday at Southwick Country parkrun! We had a nice chat in the carpark afterwards. I checked out his profile online when I was checking my own results. A modest man, I found out that he’s not far off his 100 t-shirt and had travelled from Windsor. You may know that he’s done over half his parkruns at Bushy. Now he’s trying to do a different one each week and of course has to travel further and further each time.
    Well done Ron, I’m a newbie and have only completed a mere 3 so far!

  7. Also yesterday, persuaded my visiting sister-in-law from Surrey to do her 1st parkrun. She’s now going to check out what would be her local one at Nonsuch Park. She lives in Epsom. Bansted Woods is her 2nd choice.

Leave a Reply

