Bolton parkrun (plan B)

I’m running out of parkruns that are within a day trip of me, but there are still loads within a day trip of my in-laws.  So on Friday night, we headed north, and on Saturday morning, I headed to Bolton for the parkrun at Leverhulme park and the company of Travelling Hopefully.

First things first.  The usual Bolton parkrun is flat, down, up, flat down up.  You run around the athletics track, down a hill, up “the hill”, run an out and back section and then repeat the down a hill, up “the hill” loop.

But this weekend, the athletics track was being repaired, and plan B was wheeled out.  This is a distinctly more challenging route.  Flat, down, up, down, up, down, up.  The out and back section followed by three loops of “the hill” with no rest in between.

Memo to self:  do more hill training.

As usual, meeting up with an ‘athoner was great and I’m grateful that Travelling Hopefully agreed to join me.  On the back of our post-run chat, I’ve even joined another group, though this one is for knitters not runners.  Now, where did I put my knitting needles…?

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bolton parkrun (plan B)

  1. Hels says:

    Crystal Palace soon?

  2. shazruns says:

    Hey you could combine the 2 hobbies and your new hill mantra could be ‘knit one pearl one, knit one pearl one’ not that I know anything about hill running or knitting!

  3. fortnightflo says:

    You are so dedicated to the cause! PS Middle of the sandwiches only – what a great idea!

  4. maggiee says:

    glad you enjoyed it… sounds very challenging with all that up and down… you’ll have to join me on Heaton Park next time… when I am actually in Manchester and / or not working!!! 🙂

  5. Kieron C says:

    I’m impressed that you’re continuing despite ticking off all the ‘local’ ones!

  6. I wonder how long it will be before I see a blog post with the title ‘Main Beach’ pop up in my blog feed. 🙂

  7. Oops bad timing getting the the hills! Love the knit one peal one mantra.
    ps. IOW parkrun is flat!

  8. Pingback: Parklife round two | Travelling Hopefully

Leave a Reply

