Knee be gone

I did a parkrun this morning, and have oodles to write about the course and the people, and I promise that a full report will follow.  But at the moment, all I want to talk about is my knee.

Which may be progressing from niggly to injured.

When I first started running, my right knee protested, and it seems that running very little for two months, eating shed loads of chocolate and then trying for a long run are also not to its taste.

Short runs are fine.  Both last weekend and this, I ran the parkrun without a twinge.  But then partway into my second run, my knee starts to hurt, and while last week the pain went as soon as I stopped running (niggle), this week it is lingering (injury).

It’s on the outside, and is something to do with the bending mechanism. It’s at its worse when my knee is bent and weight-bearing (for example when coming downstairs). It’s not tender – broddling doesn’t hurt – and strapping works wonders.

If you have a miracle cure, I’d love to hear it, but failing that suggestions of things to try (run little and often, rest for a week, get thee to a physio, swap running for BMF) would be most welcome.

And I promise I’ll get Ally Pally parkrun written up asap.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Knee be gone

  1. Two possible approaches..

    Kill.
    Foam rolling, strength exercises like lunges and squats.

    Cure.
    Chocolate. Rest.

    Otherwise the sensible approach. If its not eased by rest check your shoes and consider (and save up for) a trip to the Physio.

  2. shazruns says:

    1)Rest
    2)Physio
    3)Strap it and ibuprofen
    4)Knee stengthening exercises
    5)More CHOCOLATE

  3. plustenner says:

    all the above sound good to me ! 🙂

  4. That’s ringing my ITB alarm bell a little…

    Foam roller.

    And chocolate.

    • abradypus says:

      Mine too, if I’m honest. I’ll have to let out my inner sloth and start building up gradually. And maybe sort out an appointment with a physio. 😦

      • You have upped your mileage a lot over the past year and also got a lot faster at run club. So maybe its time to get doing mainatainence exercises, foam rolling and get to know your Physio!

      • I’ve been neglecting my exercises and have felt it coming back with a vengeance. I’m resuming my regime of rolling, clam shells, rolling, bridging, rolling, that external rotation lying face down and rolling. It’s also my excuse for not having run in the rain this weekend…

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Definately Physio… and Chocolate!

  6. abradysis says:

    Baked beans 🙂

  7. twhoshotreg says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your Ally Pally experience, I was also there. I will comment on my experince there, when you post.

  8. zoecakes says:

    Think you’ve been given plenty of wise advice there, so all I’ll say is that I hope some of it works and your knee stops niggling.

Leave a Reply

