A podium finish at Highbury Fields parkrun

The most challenging thing about this morning’s parkrun was getting out of bed.  Because, let’s be honest, outside is cold and under-the-duvet is not.

But I want my 50 t-shirt, so I gagged my inner sloth, leapt out of bed and headed off to Highbury Fields.

And my dedication was rewarded.  I (re)met Reggie, Tim and Rick from last week’s run at Ally Pally.  I chatted to the four volunteers: Agatha, Craig, David and Steve.  I put faces to three names from the Table of Doom: Alex, Philip and Benjamin Williamson, all of whom are members of the 100-club.  And I won*.

The course is multi-lap, but don’t let that put you off.  It’s tarmac path all the way, and has a gentle rise and fall to each lap.  It’s unlikely to be the prettiest or easiest or most challenging parkrun you’ll ever run, but the laps will give you a chance to practice your pacing, and you really can’t ask for a friendlier group of volunteers.

Just make sure you count your laps.  I know of one runner who finished after four, and one who lost track and ended up running six.  The number you’re after is five, so whether you rely on technology, transfer stones from one hand to another, or play a version of “I went to Paris and I bought…”

So:

  • One – t-shirt to marshal (thank you)
  • Two – t-shirt to marshal, wave from marshal
  • Three – t-shirt to marshal, wave from marshal, marshal headed off to finish
  • Four – t-shirt to marshal, wave from marshal, marshal headed off to finish, fast people finished
  • Five – t-shirt to marshal, wave from marshal, marshal headed off to finish, fast people finished, yup this is it!  Victory is mine!

 

*8th out of 10 overall.  1st out of 2 women.  Sometimes, it seems, you can win just by turning up.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A podium finish at Highbury Fields parkrun

  1. Helen says:

    Great time though, Louise!

  2. Ian says:

    Congratulations!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done and well deserved!! 2 to go, can you believe it?

  4. Fortnightflo says:

    Great time – what a difference a year makes…

  5. runtezza says:

    Excellent effort — well done! Great stats too — does the ‘Num Runners’ column reflect the weather conditions?

  6. abradypus says:

    Thank you all. I didn’t stop grinning for… actually, I’m still grinning 😉

Leave a Reply

