If you don’t like stats, look away now!

I’ve been playing with statistics again, plotting winning times at English parkruns against the size of the field.  As you might expect, the smaller the field, the greater the variation in winning times.

 

 

Before you challenge me about my sample, as I don’t have access to the parkrun database (Dear Jim, please would you fix it for me….), getting my data involved copying and pasting from the results webpages to excel, and frankly, by the time I got to the end of the English parkruns, I’d lost all enthusiasm for the task.

For the purists among you, I’m plotting men’s times and women’s times against the size of the whole field (not men’s times against the number of men and women’s times against the number of women) as this is the information that is easily available.

What do these tell you?  If you are a slow runner, your best chance of winning is to attend a teeny, tiny parkrun on a cold, wet miserable day.  Which you probably knew anyway.

I really need to get a life!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to If you don’t like stats, look away now!

  1. runtezza says:

    Wow — have no idea what to make of those charts but they are beautiful. Some impressively fast people out there clearly.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – are you off work at the moment – or perhaps Andy is away and you have a lot of time on your hands?? Either way very impressive and indeed pretty charts. Parkrun should offer you a consultancy!

  3. I like stats! Now are you going to share the important data ie, which are the teenist tiny parkruns?!

  4. shazruns says:

    Looks like you might be at a loose end-I have some christmas shopping that needs doing if interested!

  5. Kieron C says:

    I take three things from these stats. 1. There’s a parkrun somewhere (i’m guessing Bushy) that had over 850 people!! 2. 99.9% of the mens data falls below the line of my quickest ever 5k. 3. You’re a woman after my own heart!

  6. Bad Wabbit says:

    Hey – I thought about this blog post today. How did you go about exporting the data from the parkrun website – was it a literal cut/paste from the webpages manually? Did you go to every single event, for every single race? That would have taken a gazillion years! Thinking of maintaining an uber-spreadsheet of all our Goddington Park events. Just because!

Leave a Reply

