Poole parkrun…is this the end?

My days as a parkrun nomad are over.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not giving up on parkrun, nor am I settling down with one parkrun for the rest of time.  I will still be planning holidays around parkruns and if any ‘athoners or reykjavikers suggest a parkrun meetup, I’ll jump at the chance.

But Poole parkrun marks the end of my obsessive compulsion to run a different parkrun every week.  Because however wonderful the course (flat, picturesque, fast), the people (friendly as ever) and the perks (free sports massage pre or post run), I want the option of a weekend off, of a parkrun I can run to, of a Saturday when I’m home before I get my results text.

So, parkrun tourism here I come.  Vive la difference!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Poole parkrun…is this the end?

  1. Maggiee says:

    Wow!! Look at what you clocked up though! Pretty amazing! I can’t even get myself up to Heaton park on a regular basis so I am in awe of your efforts, and fully empathetic of your desire to stay closer to home! 🙂 x

  2. lazybetty says:

    Congratulations on a fantastic running year. I hope you are basking in a warm glow of smugness!

  3. plustenner says:

    absolutely fabulous! and very pleased that I have run one of them with you

  4. Shaz says:

    Weekends won’t be the same without thinking ‘wonder where Louise has run this Saturday!’ missing that already, well done on your amazing nomadic year x

  5. runtezza says:

    Well done on a great series of nomadic blogs — have fun as a tourist!

  6. JovialGnome says:

    I’m with Shaz, always wondered what part of the world you’d ventured to on a Saturday! Hearty congratulations on your achievements so far and for inspiring to be a bit nomadic! Look forward to the next stage of your adventure!

  7. zoecakes says:

    An impressive number of different events – well done! 🙂
    Do you have a favourite?

    Also, how was Poole? It the closest one to my parents so I keep thinking we should try it one day when we’re visiting them…

    • abradypus says:

      Poole was great. Two laps around a lake ending with a shorter victory lap of the cricket pitch. It’s flat, and would have been fast, if not for the icy patches. And the finishing funnel takes you straight up into the pavilion for tea. Very civilised.

  8. Well done! I also wonder where you’ve got to each Saturday. Can’t wait to see your 50 T shirt! Look forward to running some parkruns with you next year and to getting you to IOW one day!

  9. fortnightflo says:

    I’m so excited about seeing you get your 50 shirt – I demand a pic, and are you sure I can’t tempt you up here for Bedford on NYE?

Leave a Reply

