parkrun double bill

I have kicked off Janathon in style with two parkruns and an ‘athoner sighting.  I also met umpteen parkrunners I’d crossed paths with before, including five people from my running club, three Reykjavikers, the race photographer and one of the Burnham Joggers.

For today, in London, it was possible to run three parkruns in quick succession:

  • Bushy at 9am
  • Banstead Woods, Nonsuch or Roundshaw Downs at 10am
  • Riddlesdown at 11am.

By my calculations, 52 parkrunners managed the triple.  Of those, Rachael Elliott was the fastest female runner, with an average time of 22:42, and Anthony Jackson was the fastest male runner, with an average time of 17:12.

Being more of a tortoise than a hare, I opted to skip the 10 o’clock and go straight from Bushy to Riddlesdown.  Maybe next year…

PS: Congratulations Kirsty

PPS: Congratulations Paul

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, parkrun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to parkrun double bill

  1. runtezza says:

    Excellent effort x 2!

  2. cmmercer says:

    Ah man, didn’t know you were there! I dun all 3! it was tough work!!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bedford Park run and a target missed « Fortnightflo's Blog

  4. Kirstylirsty says:

    Thanks Louise, nice to see you this morning.

  5. 7stoneitch says:

    When I’m feeling a bit braver I definitely want to check out a Parkrun.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Very energetic for New Years Day – and a great time at Bushy!

  7. Kieron C says:

    I dream of ‘an average time of 17:12’! Great start to Janathon, keep it up 🙂

  8. Good lord woman, it never stops does it! Definitely an excellent start to Janathon, although we will be expecting this kind of performance daily from now on.

  9. plustenner says:

    wow! that is awesome, 52 parkruns done – huge congratulations 🙂

  10. jensruns2011 says:

    What a great start to Janathon 2012 ! 🙂

  11. Fantastic 2 x parkruns to start Janathon which was responsible for setting you on the parkrun path last year. Very envious, I love parkruns but sadly I’m hopeless at getting up early on Saturdays!

  12. Helen says:

    I still think 2 out of 3 is a pretty hardcore effort. And well done on completing 50!

  13. I was looking out for you at the end to ask how it went, but I somehow got caught up with some other bits and pieces. Then had to retrieve my car from the back of the school and before I knew it I was in the pub warning the landlord that there was a huge turnout and that his pub was going to be crammed full of muddy runners! Congratulations on the double parkrun.

  14. henniemavis says:

    Bravo! You’re off to a grand start…

  15. Well done Louise – we were at Bushy and Riddlesdown too! You remain a Parkrun legend. Which has been your favourite so far? Good luck with Janathon.

  16. zoecakes says:

    So impressed by anyone who made it up for a parkrun at 9am on New Year’s Day, let alone doing two!

Leave a Reply

