A convergence of ‘athoners

Last night, as I set my alarm clock for disgusting o’clock*, I confess to questioning my sanity.  What sane person would voluntarily trek into Central London to run a 10k race?  I was still questioning it at eight o’clock this morning, as I waited at The Hub in Regent’s Park, scanning the horizon for ‘athoners. 

But after the race**, as the six of us (fortnight flo, plustenner, fairweather runner, cake of good hope, the magathon and me) sat in a cafe chatting (and eating), I realised that I am in fact perfectly sane.  For what better way to spend a Sunday morning than in such fine company, company that I would not have met but for the ‘athons.

*Known by shazruns as a lie-in

**A sub-60 pb!!!!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A convergence of ‘athoners

  1. plustenner says:

    amazing time!! well done.. was really good to see you 🙂

  2. JovialGnome says:

    Excellent stuff, well done to you and your fellow ‘athoners. Anything involving running is perfectly sane!

  3. Helen says:

    Sub 60!!!!! Woooooooo!

  4. Catherine says:

    most excellent running there!!… I did a 10k on my lonesome which was over an hour

  5. maggiee says:

    woop woop! amazing PB! Well done! And great to see you again… here’s to the next one! 🙂

  6. Well done all of you. I love PBs – especially with a U in!

  7. carahendry says:

    That’s brilliant! Well done! Happy Days 🙂

  8. Kieron C says:

    You could ask – What sane person would spend their Sunday mornings in bed when the world is free to run? Congrats on the PB!

  9. Yes it was early!
    Congrats again on your pb. Great morning and lovely to meet up with everyone and have a yummy breakfast (after a bit of exercise)!

  10. abradypus says:

    Thank you all. I confess to being a teeny bit chuffed with my time 🙂

  11. fortnightflo says:

    Awesome result – a sub one hour 10k is AMAZEBALLS!! You are my hero and my inspiration. Cx

  12. sooozie says:

    Sub 60! Fantastic time – well done

  13. nicky192 says:

    whooo hoooo a PB! You kept that announcement very low key. Well done!!

  14. nicky192 says:

    on the PB not the keeping it low key. I believe that PB’s should be shouted from the roof tops 🙂

  15. A PB! Congratulations :o) I would like one of those, please.
    Lovely to meet you – thanks for a fun morning! K x

  16. runtezza says:

    Great job on the PB.

  17. jensruns2011 says:

    Well done on a great PB 🙂

Leave a Reply

