Thank goodness for parkrun

Have I mentioned that my marathon is nine weeks tomorrow.  Take off the taper, and that leaves six weeks to train.  So what training have I done sine the Janathon meet-up last Saturday?

Nothing.  Zip.  Diddly.

But Saturday is parkrun day, and parkrun trumps sloth, so at 9am I joined 316(!) other freezing runners for the inaugural Newbury parkrun.

Yes.  Despite snow and sub-zero temperatures, 317 people took advantage of the generosity of the volunteers and ran* around the flat, single-lap, hard-packed gravel** course with stunning views***.

And in the throng were plenty of familiar names and faces, including:

  • the race photographer that I first met at Southwick parkrun
  • a parkrun tourist who I’ve watched vanish into the distance at  Ally Pally, Wanstead Flats, Hampstead Heath, Valentines and Wormwood Scrubs
  • the parkrunner who gave me lifts between the longest parkrun’s seven venues
  • the chirunning coach from a great workshop I went to last March
  • a posse of Basingstoke parkrunners I recognised from Eastbourne’s inaugural run
  • two of the touring party of Burnham Joggers
  • and Chris and Linda Cowell, who are at 1st and 5th place on the most events table and who have clocked up 77 and 63 different venues respectively.  Respect.

*jogged gingerly.  At least in my case.

**allegedly.  Underneath the snow.

***so I’m told.  I was too busy watching my step to look up.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in chirunning, parkrun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thank goodness for parkrun

  1. Rachel says:

    Well done for beating the freeze and getting to another new parkrun!

    • cmmercer says:

      Well done on getting out in the cold for yet another parkrun!! I had to forego the parkrun this morning mostly due to still being asleep!! Wow nite long to go till marathon time!! Thankfully i still have something like 11 weeks to go 🙂

  2. plustenner says:

    well done! Banstead was cancelled, so I did my own ‘parkrun’ through the park LOL

  3. JovialGnome says:

    Well done superstar! I admire your fortitude and resilience for running in such ridiculously cold conditions, you put the rest of us (well me at any rate!) to shame. 🙂

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Wow what a great turnout – the photos make it look fun! Now get your butt out there and get your long run done!

  5. zoecakes says:

    You say you’re a sloth but you still manage to get out of bed for parkrun at 9am every Saturday – if only I had such dedication I’d go a lot more often!! 😉

Leave a Reply

