Easter Eggs and @EalingHalf

Earlier today, @EalingHalf tweeted:

Did you know – one chocolate Easter egg (shell) is the calorie equivalent of a 2 hour half marathon.

But is it?  How big is the Easter Egg?  Is it milk or dark chocolate?  Which is more important, running a half marathon, or running for two hours?

I did some research on this last year, and found that:

Calories burned by exercise = ((METs * 3.5 * weight in kg) / 200) * duration in minutes

If you take the METs for running, walking and lying down (handily published in the Compendium of Physical Activities) and plug them into the formula, then what you find is that running a marathon in two hours and then lying down for three burns the same number of calories as running a marathon in five hours.  What’s important is your weight and the distance that you run, not the speed at which you run.

So strictly speaking, the tweet could more accurately be phrased:

Did you know, one 150g milk chocolate Easter Egg (shell) is the calorie equivalent of running a half-marathon if you weigh 5 1/2 stone.

Though I grant you, this lacks the punch of the original!

As for my Viceathon totals, the Easter Egg and Hot Cross Buns have put me well and truly into the red.  Good job I’ve a marathon coming up in under a week.

April 6
Chocolate in: 3 squares = 90 chocal = 180 excal
Hot Cross Buns in: 1 = 250 buncal = 500 excal (ouch!)
Exercise out: 3.5 miles run = 350 excal
Viceathon total b/fwd: 1,100 excal
Viceathon total c/fwd: 770 excal

April 7
Chocolate in: 2 squares = 60 chocal = 120 excal
Hot Cross Buns in: 1 = 250 buncal = 500 excal
Exercise out: 6 miles cycled = 300 excal
Viceathon total b/fwd: 770 excal
Viceathon total c/fwd: 450 excal

April 8
Chocolate in: 1 Easter Egg shell = 800 chocal = 1,600 excal
Exercise out: nil
Viceathon total b/fwd: 450 excal
Viceathon total c/fwd: (1,150) excal

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in viceathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easter Eggs and @EalingHalf

  1. plustenner says:

    yay! brackets and red 🙂

  2. zoecakes says:

    This made me smile, whilst trying not to think about all the chocolate we have at home – the required exercise to burn it off would be at least a marathon or three! 😉

  3. shazruns says:

    You lost me at first asterix! Enjoy burning all those cals this weekend and more importantly consuming all that Bournville you can eat next Monday!

  4. henniemavis says:

    I am getting a huge charge out of your “the science of Viceathon” posts! And I can hardly wait for your first post-marathon blogpost! Me thinks I’ll eat some chocolate now, in celebration 🙂

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Hehe I hate those off the cuff comments too. Although I must say I am rather surprised just how calorie laden Easter eggs and all things chocolatey are, since I’ve started weightwatchers. I’m just about to do my tally – suspect I may be in debt too…

Leave a Reply

