Bexley parkrun and a Trailblazer 10km

Today was a good day.  I completed the full set of Greater London parkruns, I ran my first 10km trail run and I went to my mother’s for tea.

Bexley parkrun…

…is possibly the most picturesque of the London parkruns.  The large, sprawling park has a boating lake, a wood, birdsong, great views and a country house.  The run route is undulating but not excessively hilly, and underfoot is a mixture of tarmac, grass, hard and woodland paths.  The walk down from the car park gives you a chance to admire the views, and the walk back up again serves as a gentle cool down.

Add to this brilliant sunshine (I’d almost forgotten what the sun looked like), Roy Reeder (parkrun tourist since 2007) and friendly locals and you end up with a rather wonderful start to the day.

Runners World Trailblazer 10km (Bedgebury Forest)…

…aka I went to Bedgebury and I got:

  1. A free Saucony technical t-shirt
  2. A reduced rate subscription to Runners World
  3. A free* Camelbak bag
  4. The chance to run through some really rather beautiful woodland
  5. Muddy feet**
  6. Chatting to two Wimbledon parkrunners
  7. A sub 65 minute time
  8. Met at the finish by ‘athoner-extraordinaire Local Adventures
  9. A goody-filled kit bag
  10. No sunburn***
  11. A grin that still hasn’t gone away.

And it was all exquisitely organised by Rat Race Adventure Sports.  Roll on the Forest of Dean.

* with the subscription to Runners World
** and socks, and legs
*** thank you, thank you, thank you to whoever invented Ultrasun once-a-day sunscreen.

Afternoon tea

…featuring strawberries, ginger preserve, macaroons, Scamble-with-friends and great company.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bexley parkrun and a Trailblazer 10km

  1. fitartist says:

    Excellent! I am thinking of doing the Clumber Park one because it’s close to my parents, it seems you are recommending it highly!

  2. cmmercer says:

    Great prep for the thunder run 🙂

  3. Helen says:

    Bexley is near me! I must do it soon. And two runs in a day, hardcore.

  4. Congratulations on completing the London set… for now. I’ll look out for you at the Burgess park inaugural event (subject to it being after 14 July 🙂 ).

  5. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like a great goodie bag! 😉
    And pleased to hear good reviews for Bexley Parkrun – we’re going on Saturday.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Wow – fabulous goody bag!! And 2 races in one day is fab going, well done.

Leave a Reply

