Showing willing

Just in case I’m going to be mad enough to attempt Juneathon proper, I added a mile of running to my cycle commute.

As it turns out, it was less a chore than a necessity, for today I took my bike to the bikeshop from hell to get the gears fixed.

The first phonecall was to tell me that I needed new rear sprockets (I know, that’s what I told you when I booked my bike in) and that they would need to be ordered from the warehouse and would be in on Thursday.  I dutifully re-booked my bike in for Thursday.

The second phonecall was to tell me that my bike was so old that it needed different rear sprockets from the ones stocked in the warehouse, and these would need to be ordered in specially, taking around two weeks.  I dutifully cancelled my appointment for Thursday.

I then went to the bikeshop from hell to pick up my unfixed bike and to order the requisite parts.  I waited patiently while the assistant fetched my bike and then waited patiently for a till to become free and then waited patiently while the assistant tried to order the parts and then waited patiently while the order went wrong and then waited patiently while the assistant tried again and then waited patiently while the order went wrong again and then waited patiently while the assistant called for assistance and then listened in disbelief when his colleague said “but we have those parts in stock” and then waited while he went off to find them and then waited while they called the mechanic to find out whether there was time to fit them this evening and then found out that there wasn’t so rebooked the bike in for Wednesday.

After which I opted for the long route home to blow off a little steam.

Before running around the block to blow off a little more.

I feel almost human again.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Showing willing

  1. Marvellous! I have to say I’m impressed that…

  2. I love the word ‘sprocket’. That is all.

  3. Maggiee says:

    Oh my… What a lot of waiting… And what a useless bike shop!!

  4. henniemavis says:

    Oh, how I missed you! (still chuckling at your post) So you are definitely Juneathoning in some capacity then? Please say yes. I want to be sure I can expect 30 posts in a row from you 🙂

  5. JovialGnome says:

    Run, run, run you know you can do it and your patience does you great credit, many karma points!

  6. runtezza says:

    A case of ‘Sprocket? Man, I think it’s gonna be a long long time…’?

  7. Helen says:

    You should visit my friend’s bike shop in Kennington and tell them Helen sent you. You might get a discount 😀

  8. Yay you are Juneathoning! With Bike shops like that you’d better make it runnung everyday to ensure you de-stress!

  9. plustenner says:

    what a useless shop! name and shame time 🙂

  10. fortnightflo says:

    Hahaha! Amazing how a run can clear most stress. Reason enough to do it.

Leave a Reply

