Thunder Run

It was Thunder Run this weekend and I was there.  Two years ago, I couldn’t run for a bus, and this weekend I took part in a 24-hour endurance race.  Admittedly in the easiest possible category (teams of 6 to 8) but even so, it entailed 30km of hilly trail running, of which 20km were in the dark.

Two things have turned me into a runner:  Janathon and parkrun.  The former introduced me to the wonders of the online running community, and the latter has kept me running week in, week out even when my mojo is on holiday.

I’ll leave others to tell you about the course in detail (trail, hills, tricky descents and tree roots will almost certainly feature).  My abiding memories will be of the people.

Fools Rushing

When the idea of entering Thunder Run first came up, the plan was to make it an ‘athoner meet-up.  As injuries and real-lives got in the way, the links became more and more tenuous, and the final team was as follows:

Lorraine who knew Linda (who had to drop out) who knew Fortnight Flo who knew me and Fairweather Runner and Plustenner who knew Marathon Mercer who had tweeted The Beardy Guy.

The race was underway before everyone had been formally introduced and it was over before all seven of us had ever been in the same place at the same time.  It was ludicrous and fabulous and I would do it all again, for each and every one of my team mates was fantastic.

Not only but also

As well as the ‘athoners in my team, I also ran into Soozie, Tony parkrunner and David, although I didn’t manage to spot Duncan who was in a team of three and thus out on the course or out like a light for most of the race.  From my parkrun life there were the Huddersfield Bunnies (Yorkshire Longest parkrun) and the Cannon Hill mob (Reykjavik) and there were also some Windmilers competing in a team of five who provided welcome support on the course as they overtook and vanished into the distance.

Everywhere I looked, there were familiar faces, and they helped to turn what could have been a daunting weekend into 48 hours of fun.

Will I go back next year?  Very possibly.  And if I do, I’m taking a bigger tent.  Or a winnebago.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, parkrun, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thunder Run

  1. fortnightflo says:

    Yes yes yes yes I’ll go halves on the rental don’t care how much it costs! Have also roped my brother into next years team as longs as its not month end weekend!

  2. plustenner says:

    count me in too! thanks to you all for the best running experience I have ever had 🙂 I must admit I was pretty nervous when reality hit about running 35 km in one weekend, but thanks to all of you it was absolutely fabulous

  3. henniemavis says:

    Congrats to all of you! Does sound like amazing fun. If you take a bigger tent, I’m in. That gives me a year to save airfare & fix this really awful foot thing… while borrowing that tent for the week will save me on lodging, HA! 🙂

    I have to say most seriously: I’m so impressed that you manage to keep fit-blogging even during non-‘athon months. I just did some running & biking on Cape Cod this past weekend, took some fun photos & still can’t muster the discipline to post. Your running is admirable — but your regular reporting is even moreso!

  4. Pingback: Addias Thunder Run 2012 « fairweatherrunner

  5. Can I pre-book a bedroom? I’ll save up and bring a great big teepee for day time use!

  6. AprilRuns says:

    This sounds like loads of fun, happy to read you enjoyed all of it. Meeting your virtual running friends for real must have been awesome!

Leave a Reply

