Richmond parkrun

My training plan called for a sub 27:30 parkrun this morning.  To put this into context, I have run 86 parkruns and a grand total of three of them have been sub 27:30, namely Oak Hill (tarmac, very slightly undulating), Gunnersbury (mostly tarmac, essentially flat) and Gdynia (tarmac, pancake flat).

So, did I opt for nice and flat Wimbledon parkrun?  Net downhill Banstead Woods parkrun?  Flat and fast Bushy parkrun?  Slightly undulating Nonsuch parkrun?  Of course not.  For that would have been sensible, and where’s the challenge in that?  Instead, in my infinite wisdom, I opted for Richmond parkrun, a net uphill parkrun with a downhill first half and an uphill second half, including an uphill sprint finish.  I say sprint finish.  I mean finish.

Needless to say, I didn’t deliver a sub 27:30.  But it was another sub 28, and the stunning location made for a surprisingly enjoyable four mile easy run afterwards.  I now have twenty hours to recover before tomorrow’s long run.  Sofa, here I come.

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Richmond parkrun

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Well done! I keep meaning to get on a Parkrun but work most saturdays. One day!

  2. Good luck with tomorrow’s long run….keep going!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done on another sub 28!!
    and on hills!
    and running home after!
    good luck for tomorrow x

  4. ewoodeson says:

    you actually make me want to be in the UK with your park run exploits! I grew up within spitting (well, if you are an olympic spitter) distance of Richmond Park, have rollerbladed, walked and cycled round it endlessly but had no idea there was a park run here. Tch. One for the next time I’m home!!

  5. fairweatherrunner says:

    If you want to come out and say you love hills we really promise not to judge! Well done.

Leave a Reply

