Breaking up the monotony

Long runs can be a little tedious, and I struggle to find ways to pass the time.

I’ve tried admiring the scenery*, listening to music**, listening to podcasts***, talking to myself**** and contemplating my inner muppet in search of enlightenment***** but I’m usually aware of each and every mile, each and every bus stop, each and every taxi.

So when Run Or Go Crazy suggested that we combine our runs, I leapt at the chance.  Suddenly, instead of a 12 mile run, I had a three miler to our meeting place, a six miler in great company and a three miler home.  And as I picked the meeting place, I even got to make sure that the last three miles was down hill.

I can’t remember the last time a two and a bit hour run passed so quickly******.

 

*I spy with my little eye something beginning with T.
Tree.
I spy with my little eye something beginning with AT.
Another Tree.
I spy with my little eye something beginning with YAT.
Yet Another Tree.  Bored now.

**This just puts me off my stride.

***Great…unless there’s any traffic, in which case it’s volume up, volume down, volume up, volume down.

****I really am quite dull.

*****I have no inner muppet.  Sad, but true.

******A slight exaggeration.  It was in fact last week, when I roped in plustenner for company.  I sense a theme emerging.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breaking up the monotony

  1. Shaz says:

    Sounds lovely, lucky you and giselle

  2. Good use of asterisks*

    *probably over does it a bit

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Hehe – great post! Running with friends does make it go soooo much quicker. You could always join me for Run to the Beat.

  4. I often listen to audiobooks but they probably suffer from the same volume problems as podcasts.

Leave a Reply

