Logging overload

Motivating myself to run can be hard enough, but the subsequent logging malarkey is simply ridiculous.

It started off quite simply.  After each run, I would log onto running free and record my activity.

Then I got a smartphone with a gps app, and I would export the file to myself, download it onto my pc and then import it into running free online.

Then I also joined fetch everyone, so I would export my gpx file, email it to myself, download it onto my pc, import it into running free online and then share it with fetch everyone.

Then I switched to a garmin, so I started uploading my activity to garmin connect, separately importing it into running free online and sharing it with fetch everyone.

Then I got online coaches, so now I upload my activity to garmin connect, separately import it into running free online, share it with fetch everyone and then update my training log.  And then I summarise my weekly activity in a feedback email.

And what does all this tell me?  Goodness only knows.  I don’t have the time to look!

 

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Logging overload

  1. Andy says:

    …or indeed have any time for cooking, washing up, hoovering, etc. 😉

    Then again, at least you have an excuse, I’m just a slob – yeah!

  2. cmmercer says:

    Tell me about it, I currently have garmin training centre, garmin connect, daily mile, endomondo, and during juneathon it was running free online too! Argh

  3. runorgocrazy says:

    Oh my word! That would probably stop me running!!

  4. plustenner says:

    LOL! me too, GarminConnect, Runningfree and DailyMile, was tempted to do it to FetchEveryone as well

  5. AprilRuns says:

    … and so I am seriously considering returning to my good old OFFLINE Excel sheet…

Leave a Reply

