Ealing Half Marathon

Last year, I ran Windsor and Royal Parks half marathons and enjoyed them both, but for different reasons.  This year, they clashed, and rather than play favourites I leapt on fairweather runner’s suggestion of Ealing Half Marathon number one.

Good choice.

Granted, the route isn’t flat, but there aren’t any hills as such, more long drags up and free-flowing downs.  The route was also nice and wide with a welcome lack of pinch points, meaning that you could run at your preferred pace without hindrance.

I started too fast, though by design rather than accident.  This was the first half marathon I’ve run where my intention has been anything other than ‘get round’, and so I had absolutely no feel for what a sensible pace would be.  As luck would have it, fairweather and Lorraine (last spotted at Thunder Run) were both running and both aiming for two hours.  I knew I wouldn’t manage that, but thought I would run with them for as long as I could, and then ease off and see what happened.  The outcome?

Miles 1 to 5: feeling good; sub 9 min miles.
Miles 6 to 8: wheels started to wobble; pace dropped markedly; started to go backwards though the field.
Mile 9: wheels feel off; walked a short section to get my heart rate under control and regroup.
Mile 10: reattached wheels; plodded on doggedly.
Mile 10 mile marker: only a parkrun to go!
Miles 11 to 13: pace picked up slightly; less than a parkrun; less than a parkrun; less than a parkrun.
Mile 13.1: surge; cross line; stagger; change; stretch; collapse; chat.

The result?  Two hours, five minutes.  Which is a pb by eleven minutes.  I’ll take that!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ealing Half Marathon

  1. Brilliant! Well done you, 2.05 is pretty darned good and 11 minutes is quite a large chunk to lop off your pb! I’m glad I’m not the only one who uses the “less than a parkrun” mantra! 🙂

  2. runorgocrazy says:

    Woo hoo!! Brilliant. Well done!!

  3. fairweatherrunner says:

    Great run and brilliant PB! Won’t be long at all before you lose those 5 mins!

  4. Dan says:

    Well done on setting the new PB! I was probably somewhere near you at the start as I was 20-30 yards back from the 2 hour pacers but caught up with them by mile 1 and then pushed on from them at mile 3.

    I used the ‘only a parkrun to go’ as well and even shouted it out to anyone who would listen.

  5. plustenner says:

    fantastic pb! sub 2 hours next?

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Oh wow what a fab time – 11 minutes off your PB – WOW!! Well done.

  7. shazruns says:

    Great time well done you

Leave a Reply

