Finsbury parkrun

An OU dayschool in Central London meant a return to Finsbury parkrun on Saturday.  The only other time I’ve been was back in March 2011, when I met fortnight flo and shazruns for the first time.

The course is unchanged.  Two laps of Finsbury Park which feature sweeping views, a lake and a playground and which are meandering enough to be interesting.  Granted there’s a hill at the end of mile one that recurs about halfway through mile three, but the preceding downhill is sweeping and there’s enough of a rest after the hill to allow for a final flourish.

I started at the back and stayed there chatting to Rosie, a relative newcomer to parkrun who hasn’t (gasp) printed off her barcode yet (is it only me who is motivated by free t-shirts?).  I’ve missed that aspect of parkrun.  Great though it’s been to get sub 27:30 again, nothing says parkrun quite like fascinating chats with random strangers.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finsbury parkrun

  1. fitartist says:

    Excellent time! I know the course well, it used to be my local, I really used to struggle on ‘that hill’, then built up to overtaking…well only if people were actually walking up 😉 When you coming to Hilly Fields?

  2. fairweatherrunner says:

    Impressed by your dedication to parkrun, fitting one in before OU day school!

  3. I’ve got this venue in my sights so nice to read about it again. I would also like to say that I am with you 100% on the parkrun trumps everything thing. But you knew that already.. 🙂

  4. plustenner says:

    well done!! you are getting speedier all the time!!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Oh I had forgotten about that hill! Luckily I think Southend will be flat!

  6. shazruns says:

    I have not forgotten the hill it’s a killer and to have it twice. Southend better be flat but think it only will be if sticks to see front!

Leave a Reply

