Talking to the radio.

There are some songs that I could listen to on repeat for the whole day.  And then there are songs that irritate me so much that I find myself ranting at the radio every time they come on.  There are no prizes for guessing which category the following falls into.

Take That: I want you back for good!

I guess now it’s time for me to give up
I feel it’s time
Got a picture of you beside me
Got your lipstick mark still on your coffee cup [It’s been a month.  Wash up already!  Haven’t the coffee dregs gone furry?  Oh, the romance.]
Got a fist of pure emotion
Got a head of shattered dreams
Gotta leave it, gotta leave it all behind now

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t mean it [You just don’t have a clue, do you?]
I just want you back for good [I want doesn’t get.]
Whenever I’m wrong just tell me the song and I’ll sing it [Putting me in the role of the nag.  Thanks, but no thanks].
You’ll be right and understood [The first, possibly.  The second, I doubt, seeing as you’ve still no idea what it is you did that wound me up so much.]

Unaware but underlined I figured out this story
It wasn’t good
But in the corner of my mind I celebrated glory
But that was not to be
In the twist of separation you excelled at being free [Yes.  I discovered that there are people who make my life a nicer place to be.  You, apparently, aren’t one of them.]
Can’t you find a little room inside for me [No.]

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t mean it [So, in essence, you’re an insincere liar.]
I just want you back for good [Sooo not going to happen.]
Whenever I’m wrong just tell me the song and I’ll sing it [Life’s too short.  I’d rather find someone who can moderate their own behaviour.]
You’ll be right and understood [Again, doubtful.]

And we’ll be together, this time is forever [Oh goody?]
We’ll be fighting and forever we will be
So complete in our love
We will never be uncovered again [Dear gods, no!]

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t mean it [Clueless, insincere, whining.  Shall I go on?]
I just want you back for good [So you’ve said.]
Whenever I’m wrong just tell me the song and I’ll sing it [Ad nauseam]
You’ll be right and understood [I give up.  You’re just not listening, are you?]

I guess now it’s time, that you came back for good [How did you get from “it’s time to give up” to “it’s time that I came back for good”?  It isn’t time I came back.  It will never be time for me to come back.  Read.  My.  Lips.  “No.  Never going to happen.  Move on.  And for goodness sake wash up that coffee cup!”]

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Talking to the radio.

  1. shazruns says:

    thats how you passed those 4 and half hours yesterday!!

  2. plustenner says:

    I HATE that song too! In fact – anything by Take That 🙂 brilliant post! 🙂

  3. Andy says:

    Finally you get it off you chest by writing it in your blog…rather than complaining to me about it, as if “I” wrote it 😉

    Happier now?

    Loved the post 🙂

  4. Dash says:

    Haha, I love this post!
    Is this the same song that has a video with a girl sticking a fork in their necks? Completely justified I think …

  5. I will never hear that song in the same way again!

  6. Absolutely BRILLIANT!
    I always think they’re singing, “Wash your back, wash your back, wash your back for gooo-oooood”, in the chorus.

  7. twoshotreg says:

    Just heard you on the Parkrun show, good job!!!

  8. abradypus says:

    Reblogged this on abradypus and commented:

    Another long day, and another token set of Janathon exercises. Oh yes, and I *still* hate this song.

  9. plustenner says:

    I still hate it too – in fact anything by that band!!

  10. paigesato says:

    Take That has yet to make the hit parade chez Sato, and i’m guessing they won’t anytime soon. Great post!

  11. dadoorunrun says:

    that is hilarious. let’s have another one!

  12. runtezza says:

    Ha ha. Gotta love Take That! Have to admit though that I have never paid attention to the lyrics until now. You and Gary Barlow ought to get together in time for Eurovision 2014!

  13. Pingback: Mildly grammatically incensed | dadoorunrun

  14. Cecilia says:

    LMAO! I rarely hear this song, but from now on, I will refer to it as The Abradypus Song!

    Encore! Encore! Encore! Encore!

Leave a Reply

