Hilly Fields parkrun

One way and another, it’s been an undulating sort of week.

On Monday, I was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time, and found myself subbing for Nicola Forwood* on the parkrun show; on Thursday, my bike got nicked**; and on Saturday, I finally made my way to Hilly Fields parkrun***.

Hilly Fields has been on my list since it set up shop in early September, partly because it’s one of the two London parkruns that I need to (re)complete my set, and partly because Janathoner Fit Artist is part of the core volunteer team.  I’ve gone to bed on more than one Friday night intending to run Hilly Fields in the morning, before wimping out on Saturday morning and opting for something flatter.

I was a fool.  Granted, it’s undulating, but for every up, there is a runnable down, and the climbs come in bite-sized chunks.  It’s half tarmac, half grass and can be slippery when wet, but it’s perfectly doable in either trail shoes or road shoes, and what’s a little mud between friends?

I’d planned to go bike shopping afterwards, but instead yielded to temptation and nattered to fellow tourist John Matthews, event director Stephen Robson and Fit Artist over a cup of hot chocolate at the nearby cafe.  Definitely a parkrun that’s on my list to run again.

 

*Congratulations on the birth of your daughter, Poppy.

** #@%$&!

***  It’s hilly, and there are fields.

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hilly Fields parkrun

  1. Nice one! Just listened to the show.
    You did really well 🙂

  2. plustenner says:

    oh no! where did it get stolen from? Let me know when you do Hilly Fields again, I will join you 🙂

  3. Running Dan says:

    Well done on your parkrun show début 🙂 You sounded really good.

    (It’s baby Robin though!)

  4. Abradysis says:

    Congratulations on your 100th parkrun. I’m sure we’ll get to read all about it soon 🙂

  5. zoecakes says:

    Annoying about your bike but enjoyed hearing you on the parkrun show! 🙂

Leave a Reply

