Local Adventures

One of these days, I will not get lost on Wimbledon Common.  One of these days, I will know it like the back of my hand.  One of these days.

But not today.

Today, armed with an exploration strategy from Local Adventures*, I set off along Beverley Brook, and every time I found a path leading towards the top of the common, I ran up it, turned round and ran back down.  And still I got lost.  Still the evil terra-forming pixies managed to confuse me by moving the paths while I wasn’t looking.

But I got the last laugh.  Because I realised that I could run on the Common every day for the rest of my life and I will still never know where I am**.  Which means that I will never get bored, and I will never again feel the need to travel for miles to find a brand new piece of trail running.  Which is, I think you’ll agree, something worth celebrating.

*In January 2011, I took part in my first Janathon, running a grand total of 69 miles.  Local Adventures ran a mind-boggling 450 miles, an average of 14.5 miles per day.

**This may be an exaggeration.  Local Adventures’ strategy of exploring from a known point meant that every time I got lost, I could find myself again.  Which feels like progress.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Local Adventures

  1. Brittany says:

    I would love to find a place where I can get lost every time I run it!

  2. Just as well you are ultra training you might just find your way by next year! Will you get Christmas off?

  3. I’m really glad this worked out for you. Your “silver lining” outlook will be as useful to you in your 2013 ultras, irrespective of where your feet take you in your training adventures. Great stuff.

  4. plustenner says:

    if ever you would like some (slow) company on one of your getting lost runs, let me know 🙂 have a wonderful time in Canada x

  5. fortnightflo says:

    That sounds like a great way of getting to know somewhere. And like you say, brilliant for ultra training!

Leave a Reply

