Browbeating my inner sloth

I let my inner sloth have free reign over Christmas, and pretty much ignored the fact that my first ultra marathon (The London Ultra, for those of you who’ve asked) is in mid February.  Which is really not very far away at all.

So this week, I have begun the unenviable task of trying to put my happy-to-be-outer sloth in again.  It’s a bit like trying to close a really overfull suitcase.  You sit on the lid at one end and try to nudge the zip along a fraction, then kneel on the lid at the other end and try to nudge the other zip a little, only to return to the first end to find that the zip has unzipped.

I may need reinforcements.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Browbeating my inner sloth

  1. shazruns says:

    Can offer an ample backside if need be!

  2. ewoodeson says:

    Feel your pain! I find my inner lazy fattipuff is much less truculent first thing. She appears to wake up a bit later than my ‘lets go running’ persona… Sometimes anyway!

  3. JovialGnome says:

    Love the suitcase analogy! 🙂

  4. That’s what it’s like for me actually getting my trousers on.

  5. plustenner says:

    you are about as far removed from being a sloth as Jordan is from having no plastic surgery 🙂

    • abradypus says:

      It’s all an illusion. If my training plan vanished in a puff of smoke, I would be perfectly content to sit on the sofa and never run again. Except possibly for parkrun. My base state is definitely sedentary.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    *******giggling too much at the thought of you as a suitcase to comment******

Leave a Reply

