Only a half

Training for your first marathon is a strange experience.  When you choose your training plan, you look ahead at the long runs and think “I will never, ever, in a month of Sundays, be able to run that distance at that speed” and you panic ever-so-slightly.

But gradually, over the course of the plan, you do manage the distances and it is then that the miracle happens.  You reach a recovery week where the length of the long run falls slightly, and you catch yourself thinking “O good, it’s *only* a half”.

Truth be told, that’s the reason that I signed up for my first ultra.  It’s not that I want to see what I’m capable of (though I suppose it will be interesting to find out).  It’s not that I’m one of those people who looks at a mountain and thinks “wouldn’t it be fun to run up that?”.  It’s that I want to know whether I can ever get to the point where I look at my training plan and think “O good, it’s *only* a marathon”.

Today’s run, in the enjoyable company of plustenner, was “only 14 miles”, so I’ve a way to go yet!

 

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Only a half

  1. trueindigo says:

    I have people that laugh when I say “only” a certain distance with long runs. It is funny how one’s perception changes when the mileage gets amped up.

  2. JovialGnome says:

    I can’t get over how you’ve embraced the training for the ultra and needless to say, I’m ultra impressed! 🙂 (I’ll get me coat!)

  3. God I hope you’re right!

  4. plustenner says:

    Thanks for today, it was great x

  5. shazruns says:

    Great mileage, great company cant get much better can it?

  6. Nice miles. I’m with you on that, some day it will be nice to look and say “only”. Starting my first full marathon training plan today so I’m hoping for that comment to come out at some point.

Leave a Reply

