Long slow snow run

Another enjoyable run with Run Or Go Crazy today, this time in the snow, which brings my snow run total to approximately five, making me something of an expert*.

Here is what I know about running in snow:

  1. Wrap up warmly – numb thumbs make taking photographs difficult and you may accidentally take video footage instead**
  2. Every footstep you take on virgin, untrampled snow takes three weeks off your age, but increases your risk of ankle injury by 1%
  3. You*** are infinitely more likely to fall over when standing still than when running.
  4. Car tracks are lethal – compact snow with extra slippery topping.  Avoid!
  5. Small children are lethal – especially when they are darting around lobbing snowballs at one another
  6. Snow eyebrows are funny
  7. Focus on time, not on distance – a run that usually takes an hour can take considerably longer in the snow
  8. Watch out for hypothermia**** and man-bit frostbite*****

*This is a lie.  I am not an expert.  Follow my advice at your own risk.
**That’s my story and I’m sticking to it
*** Okay.  Me.  Slide and splat is apparently my forte.
****Read the article.  It may save your life.
*****If you’re a man.  If you’re a woman, just be thankful that it’s not an option.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Long slow snow run

  1. plustenner says:

    well done!! snow runs fr me both saturday and sunday 🙂

  2. shazruns says:

    Slushy icy stuff here too lethal to run, mind you not sure i would fair better on the snow! Well done

  3. JovialGnome says:

    I’m puzzled, man-bit frostbite? Are we back to naked running again? 🙂

  4. Rachel says:

    Have I missed this video footage or is it restricted?

  5. runorgocrazy says:

    Shame the video doesn’t seem to work on the blog 😉

  6. 🙂 nice post – I do like a blog with a list…made me giggle

Leave a Reply

