A hit and a miss

The miss:

Today I was due to run a 7 mile tempo run with as little stopping as possible.  Just the session to try on pavements of sheet ice.  So instead I thought I’d go to the gym and run it on the treadmill.

Bad move!  Of the three treadmills, one was utterly broken and the other two had displays that weren’t working.  And after 15 minutes of running at an unknown pace, I was ready to die of boredom, so I gave up, had a quick go on the rowing machine and came home.

Pah!

The hit:

I tasted the chocolate something-or-others and they are gorgeous.  And as you (Dreaming of Footpaths) have asked for details, here they are.  I warn you, if you are on a low salt, low carb, low fat, gluten free or calorie restricted diet, you need to look away now!

The original recipe (with nice and simple instructions) can be found here.

It goes something like this:

Preheat oven to 180C.

Line a 7″ x 9″ baking tin with tin foil and grease it well.
Cover the bottom of the tray with a single layer of saltine crackers*
Put to one side.

Melt one cup of butter** and one cup of brown sugar*** together in a pan.
Bring to the boil.
Simmer (stirring frequently****) for 3 to 5 mins until it thickens.
Take it off the heat and wait for 30secs.
Add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract**** and stir.

Pour mixture over crackers, making sure they’re all covered.
Put tray in oven for 5 to 7 mins until the mixture is bubbling.

Remove from oven and allow to stand for 3 to 5 mins.
Sprinkle with 1.5 to 2 cups chocolate chips***** and leave to stand for another 3 to 5 mins.
Spread the now melted chocolate evenly over the top.
Leave to cool.

Eat a test piece.  Eat a second test piece.  Eat a third test piece.  And a fourth.  And a fifth.  And a sixth. Find a larger pair of trousers.  Eat some more.  Die happy.

*No idea.  They’re American and if they’re available in the UK, I’ve never found them.  So I substituted Waitrose Water Biscuits and sprinkled them with (lo) salt.

**225g.  But that was all the butter in the house, so I used about 175g

***I didn’t have brown so I used white.

****Yay!  I had this!

****Constantly.  I’ve burned sugar before.  Never again.

*****Or 1 cup of dark chocolate broken into squares, if you don’t happen to have any chocolate chips.  Seemed to work just fine.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A hit and a miss

  1. So glad you tried my recipe and it was a hit! Water biscuits with salt sprinkled is a perfect substitute for Saltines. Glad that you could die happy after these 🙂

  2. 15 whole minutes on a treadmill… Excellent!
    Time to try that receipe quick before I really do have to diet (when it gets warm).

  3. plustenner says:

    not good out there on the pavements at the moment 😦 and it is ******** snowing again!!! fed up LOL

  4. Andy says:

    They are lovely and I feel ill now 😉

  5. Shaz says:

    Saltines are square crackers that North Americans crush up and put on soup and ofcourse make chocolate delight with or they I did not know this! Water biscuits are probably as close as we get so well done

  6. Sarah F says:

    Oh yum! They sound SO delicious!! I am DEFINITELY making these on Friday!! Thank you for the recipe!! 🙂 (But shhhh!! Don’t tell the nutritionist!! 😉

  7. iliketocount says:

    No need for Studs, Louise, Adidas Kanadia 4’s are just as good and perfect for trails the rest of the year. Can’t recommend them enough. And you’ll be so far beyond 200 in another week it’ll be incredible. Keep it up!

  8. Catherine says:

    Any time on a treadmill is impressive – soooo boring. Love your approach to baking – sounds similar to my own 🙂

  9. henniemavis says:

    Yes, treadmills are a bummer. I should know. And I did not look away when you told me to, but I’m still blaming you. Now I’m drooling & must go try to eat a healthy low-cal lunch? Bah! (I’m in a foul mood today, can you tell?) 😉

Leave a Reply

