Down to the wire

When I went to bed last night, the snow was falling and nearby parkruns were dropping like flies.

20130126 yorkshire parkruns

Temple Newsam, Leeds, Roundhay, Dewsbury, Huddersfield, Bradford and Barnsley were all cancelled.

Harrogate* was hopeful, Pontefract was possible and York was maintaining a dignified silence.

More in hope than expectation, I set my alarm early enough to allow for a 7.30am start.  I woke and checked for updates, though at 7am in the morning I didn’t really expect any.

And that’s when I saw one of the most beautiful facebook posts in the history of parkrun.

20130126 harrogate

I dug out my car** and headed to Harrogate*** for three snowy laps of the The Stray.

20130126 harrogate course

And if you’re looking at that course thinking “that looks a little dull”, then that’s because you’re not looking at it right.

20130126 harrogate course with stars

For with the addition of the volunteers, it becomes one of the most fabulous courses you could ever hope to run.

*Thank you, Danny, for the tip.

**My long-suffering spouse dug out my car while I de-misted the windscreens

***On very well-gritted roads.  I may be obsessed, but I’m not stupid.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, parkrun, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Down to the wire

  1. plustenner says:

    well done!!!!

  2. JovialGnome says:

    So pleased you managed ro find one, well done you! 🙂 (And OH of course!)

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Fabulous – well done on not just giving up and having a duvet day!

  4. zoecakes says:

    I also like the fact that they read it out literally word for word on the parkrun show this week, although your long-suffering spouse didn’t get a mention for his snow shovelling! What a hero he is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

