Mile reps

Apparently Temple Run miles don’t count, so today I had another go at the speed session I skipped yesterday.  Mile reps, that went something like this:

Mile 1 (warm up): Decisions, decisions
As I left the house I was undecided about whether to try the speed session or not.  By the end of mile one, the speed session was on.

Mile 2 (fast): Wind assisted
A speedier than called for mile, assisted by a fearsome tailwind.

Mile 3 (recovery): Innocuous
Memorable for being unmemorable.

Mile 4 (fast): Dogged
Almost collided with a dog.

Mile 5 (recovery): Ow flip* ow!
Fell off the pavement.  Ricked ankle good and proper.  The air may or may not have turned blue.

Mile 6 (fast): Wind resisted
The wind giveth and the wind taketh away.  Running to stand still.

Mile 7 (recovery): Interminable
Seemingly endless, but it did eventually end.

Mile 8 (fast): Dribble and squeak
I’m not a pleasant sight (or sound) when I try to run fast!

Mile 9 (partial): The warm down
Hi honey, I’m home!

 

*My mother has been known to read this.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in janathon, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mile reps

  1. If your mum sometimes read this, I’m surprised you mention that you dogged at mile 4!

  2. Well done. Are there such things as tapers to look forward to on ultra marathon plans?

  3. JovialGnome says:

    Own up, you’re not the real abradypus are you, you’ve replaced her with a machine?! Incredible mileage, top running! 🙂

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Ah the old collapsible ankle – I know it well…

Leave a Reply

