I am an ultrarunner

Today has been…

…fun.

It was not an unmitigated success, it’s true, as I proved once again that left to my own devices I go off stupid fast and then lose my wheels.  But I did very much enjoy the first two hours (yes, the stupid fast section), resisted the temptation to jack it in at Wimbledon and just run home (thanks in huge part to some welcome hugs), survive losing a shoe in the mud of Richmond park, not fall at Norm’s feet at checkpoint 4 and beg him to just drive me to the finish, play an interesting game of tortoise and hare with other walk-a-bit, run-a-bit runners and finally, after many, many hours, get to the end.  With a grin on my face.

Guess which shoe came off!

Guess which shoe came off!

So, lots of learning for next time, but I am an ultrarunner.  And I have a medal to prove it.

Bling!

Bling!

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I am an ultrarunner

  1. never2late4 says:

    You ROCK! Feel like I should be prostrating myself at your (rather muddy) feet in a Waynes World style chanting “we’re not worthy”
    Seriously though, well done, a huge achievement.

  2. JovialGnome says:

    Just absolutely bloody fantastic!

  3. What a fantastic achievement. I am in awe of you. Stunning.

  4. Brilliant first time ultra marathoner! However you feel about it and how it went, it is a huge achievement. Very well done. X

  5. Awesomeness! Well done! Too right you should have a smile on your face when you finish that. If nothing else, just being thankful it was over I should think.
    Brilliant effort.

  6. RunToInspire says:

    I nearly hit ‘unfollow’ after the runner-foot photo! T.M.I!!!
    hahahah

  7. Massive congratulations, for a very worthy accomplishment. More than anything I’m hugely pleased to hear that you overcame some difficulties and temptations, finished with a grin, and are already looking ahead to “next time”. Sterling work Louise, great stuff all round.

  8. Dave Johnson says:

    Nice to see you again, Louise. Congratulations, and good luck with the next adventure!

  9. henniemavis says:

    Spectacular! I’ve been away all day & could not wait to get home to my laptop, where I could see how you’ve done… my goodness, I need to get a life 😉

    CONGRATULATIONS! A well-muddied pedicure = hardcore!

  10. Abradysis says:

    Wow.

  11. well done!!! an ultra marathon is something i aspire to (he says, after not even having done a marathon!) 🙂

  12. plustenner says:

    totally agree with all the other comments, you are one amazing lady!

  13. zoecakes says:

    Amazing! Well done 🙂

  14. Hazel says:

    Fantastic achievement, well done you !

  15. Sarah F says:

    Wow wow wow!! Well done! That’s absolutely amazing!! So far beyond what I could hope to do now!Love the muddy feet pic!

  16. fortnightflo says:

    Absolutley amazing achievement – triple A in my book!! Well done x

Leave a Reply

