It was all going so well…

…that I caught myself thinking I had it sussed.

More fool me.

I’ve spent the last few weeks juggling.  Fitting in college, OU study, training and my hectic social life* has been a bit like a sliding block puzzle, but I was coping and it was mostly getting done.  I may even have been getting a touch smug about the effects of my no-procrastination Lent.

But last week it all caught up with me and I slumped.  Tuesday’s speed session got postponed to Wednesday and then cancelled.  Wednesday’s training session morphed into a short run with a friend.  Thursday’s training session didn’t happen either.  Friday was a rest day, and I felt no temptation whatsoever to slip on my trainers and nip out for a run.

Basically, my inner sloth decided that enough was enough was enough and confined me to the sofa.

But Saturday is parkrunday, and so despite the wind and the sleet and the cold, I found myself heading out to Richmond parkrun, bright eyed, bushy tailed and raring to go**.  And once there, I even managed to talk myself into the rest of my 20 mile run, my last long run before Brighton.

I don’t know why, but even in those weeks when I can’t get myself out the door for love nor money, I will get up for parkrun.   And fingers crossed, my inner sloth is dozing again, because I’ve a whole lot of running to do.

 

*take this last one with a pinch of salt

**another pinch of salt, please.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It was all going so well…

  1. JovialGnome says:

    Salt has been liberally sprinkled – just look how far you’ve come froma year ago!! 🙂

  2. Nice posting, we all have bad days and it’s good see you are defeating your inner sloth!

  3. shazruns says:

    20 mile run for anyone is an amazing achievement but a sloth thats blooking fantastic!

  4. Thank goodness for parkrun. You’ve done all the hard work, keep up 80% of the effort and you’ll be flying!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Very impressive whilst in sloth mode, not let the tapir (hehe) begin…

Leave a Reply

