Thames Path 100 (mile 65)

I spent Saturday night in a marquee in Walton-on-Thames volunteering at the Thames Path 100.

That hadn’t been the plan.  The plan had been to spend the night in a nice cosy village hall in Streatley, but flooding meant that the race director had to re-route the run at the last minute, rearranging everything from about mile 40 onwards.

So my cosy indoor pad morphed into a markedly less cosy outdoor venue, and the 100 mile point-to-point became a 102 mile out a lot*, back a bit**, out a bit**, back a smidge*** course.

Walton was at the second turnaround point, just under 2/3rds of the way through.  To put that into perspective, to get to it, the runners had run more than twice as far as I’ve ever run, and they still had further than I’ve ever run to go.

I am, to put it simply, in awe of the lot of them, and I don’t just mean those runners who eventually made it as far as the finish.  Though I’m saving a special amount of hero-worship for Debbie Martin-Consani, 6th into Walton and 4th overall finisher, who rocked up at the tent, called out her number, smiled and then carried on.  And whose splits over 100 muddy miles were more even than mine often are over 10.

Wow!

*lot = 38 miles

**bit = 27 miles

***smidge = 10 miles

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thames Path 100 (mile 65)

  1. fortnightflo says:

    I look forward to volunteering at a checkpoint when you do your 1st 100 miler…

  2. abradypus says:

    You may all live to regret those words. As I volunteered for over 8 hours, I have the option of guaranteed entry into next year’s race…

    …and I’ve just emailed the race director to say “Yes, please!”

  3. plustenner says:

    am looking forward to my volunteering now 🙂 SDW100 and NDW100

Leave a Reply

