Shorne Woods parkrun

I have fallen off the parkrun tourism wagon in recent weeks.  My four February parkruns were all at Wimbledon, and my first four March parkruns included three which I was running for the third time.

One new parkrun in eight weeks!  Something had to be done.

Fortunately on Saturday there was a new parkrun starting up in Kent, so I set my alarm for early o’clock and headed to Shorne Woods.

I may move to Kent.

The parkrun is set in a larger park, with ample (pay and display) parking and a well appointed visitor centre and café*.  The parkrun itself is three laps (two long and one short) with a few rises and falls but nothing remotely resembling a hill.  Underfoot is woodland path, mostly well maintained though with a few ruts and muddy patches.  I didn’t notice any buggies, but to my untutored eye it looks buggy friendly, so I suspect they’ll come soon enough.

If you’re accompanied by non-runners then they’ll be spoilt for choice.  They can tuck themselves up in the cafe with a drink, read the displays in the visitor centre, cheer you on each time you pass the start, take advantage of the play area or walk around one of the well-marked circular walks.

And if you’re local and need to be able to extend your parkrun into something longer as part of your marathon training, then exploring the 288 acres of woodland should keep you entertained.

As ever, my thanks to the volunteer team for their efforts.  The marshals were suitably encouraging and the registration, timing and other behind-the-scenes pixies worked their usual magic.

Definitely a parkrun to try if you’re in the area.

 

*Which sells salt and vinegar pom bears.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in parkrun, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shorne Woods parkrun

  1. plustenner says:

    sounds like one for the bucket list 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cross Flatts parkrun | jovialgnome

  3. Shaz says:

    I love Pom bears but the darn kids didn’t so never got to buy them, now if I went to this parkrun I could have a packet all on my own!

  4. Bad Wabbit says:

    Ooh where abouts in Kent?

  5. Sarah F says:

    Ooh sounds a fab one!! That’s going on the list of ‘Must try’ parkruns 🙂

  6. You are right Shorne Woods is not the easiest park to get to by public transport for 9am on a Saturday but I can say if your after a parkrun within a long run Gravesend train station is around 5 miles from Shorne Woods Country Park. The volunteer team are so encouraging during the winter (wet months) we are using a 3 equal lap course. I am a regular runner at both Shorne Woods and Great Lines, If you are passing and want a fast time go to great lines if you want a lovely run with amazing scenery and a nice family atmosphere head on down to Shorne Woods parkrun.

Leave a Reply

