I have a favour to ask

It is very simple and it is this.

Please stop reading my blog.

If you read it because you know me personally, and you feel obliged to, then stop*.

If you read it because I once commented on your blog and you feel some sort of reciprocal duty, then stop*.

If you read it because there was one post ages ago that you enjoyed, but since then it’s really not spoken to you, then stop*.

If you read it because you feel somehow that you ought to, then stop*.

If you read it for any reason other than enjoyment, then please stop*.

Because I am not writing this blog to become rich, and I am not writing this blog to become famous, and I do not care if it is read by one person or many.

I am writing this blog because I want to, and if my parkrun reviews inform you or my struggles with motivation reassure you, or my attempt at ultra training amuses you, then that’s great.  But life is short, and time is precious, and there is very little that you will read on here that will transform your life.  So go, with my good wishes, and discover a blog that you can’t wait to read*.  Like Cake of Good Hope.  Or Something about Rowing.  Or College at Thirty.  Or Not Much of a Runner.  Or Bad Science.

*Unless you are Abradysis.  In which case, I’m sorry, but tough.  Reading my blog is a requirement.  And there will be a quiz.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I have a favour to ask

  1. I read that to the end and you can’t stop me coming back. Thanks for the link. All the best for your run around Cardiff on Sunday.

  2. I read it because it comforts me to know that there is at least one mad fool who is more obsessed about parkrun than me.

  3. besfrank says:

    Respectfully…I’ve never read your blog before. Showed up on the WordPress Reader… But I have to say…I adore your snarkiness 🙂 I may just need to return. Would you approve? 🙂

  4. abradypus says:

    Of course…though only if you promise to stop returning if you read more than three dull posts in a row.

  5. Bad Wabbit says:

    I can’t follow the logic tree therefore I think that I’m still following your posts! 🙂

  6. fortnightflo says:

    I stayed to the end too because without you I would not have completed my 1st Janathon, let alone run the London Marathon. Without you I would not have run along the Thames Embankment playing I came to London and all I got was a…., and without you I would not be able to boast (after Saturday) that I PERSONALLY know an ultra-runner. You’re an inspiration so don’t even THINK about giving up blogging…or else (said in my best East End accent).

  7. Brilliant. Spot on.
    I’ve been waiting to try out the ‘reblog’ button as I have absolutely no idea how that works and this is just what I wanted to say, but didn’t realise I wanted to say it (although I don’t have a sister…and abradysis has no obligation to read my blog).

    *runs off to hit the button*

    P.S. I’ll be back

  8. zoecakes says:

    I enjoy your blogs – they are entertaining and informative especially when trying to establish whether a parkrun would be good to visit, plus they are never too long to read! 😉 I shall continue reading if you don’t mind…

  9. Reblogged this on notmuchofarunner and commented:
    I hadn’t realised this was something I had wanted to say until someone else said it.
    Thank you abradypus

  10. cmmercer says:

    NEEEEVVVVVVVVEEEEERRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!! 😉

  11. Sharon says:

    The only way we’d stop reading is if you stopped writing! To stop writing you would have to stop running. Can’t see that happening can you?

  12. Chris says:

    You are terribly funny. Funny that is, not terrible. Thank you for making my day a little nicer.

  13. Abradysis says:

    As you know, I check many times a day, and harass you mercilessly until you blog. Roll on Juneathon.

  14. plustenner says:

    I am with Carla, you have inspired me so much! You are a great friend and I find your blogs funny, inspiring, informative and totally awesome 🙂

  15. Andy says:

    Even though you tell me about your runs (whether I like it or not) I really like reading the blogs be they long or short as they are always entertaining (even to a non runner like me) – so I’m not going away any time soon. No pressure 😉

  16. sarah f says:

    I’m still hereeeee!! 🙂

  17. Pingback: How to survive a Juneathon – 10 top tips | notmuchofarunner

Leave a Reply

