Cardiff Ultra

Yesterday, I ran* my first 50 mile race. I was firmly at the blunt end of the field and there was a point, at 46 miles or thereabouts** where I would have paid serious money for the “I just want to be at the end now” teleport button but I enjoyed it and never seriously contemplated doing anything other than getting to the end.

This ultra is one of many examples of mission creep in my relationship with running. When I started my C25k programme in Summer 2010, my goal was to be able to run 4 miles in 45 mins so that run-commuting became a viable option. Then, in December 2010, I heard about Janathon, organised by JogBlog, and everything changed.

Overnight, I became a member of a running community*** and discovered my inner pit bull. I heard about parkrun, I was tempted into entering my first 10k race and the rest is history.

Yesterday’s run, from Brecon to Cardiff along the Taff Trail, went something like this:

Prelude – 4:15am to 8:00am

After setting my alarm for disgusting o’clock, I leapt out of bed as soon as it went off****, made a cup of tea, marmited two bagels for the coach, abluted, changed into the kit that I’d laid out neatly the night before****, picked up the bag that I’d carefully packed the day before****, and made my way to Sport Wales to catch the 5:30 coach to Brecon, leaving the bagels on the kitchen counter.  Doh!

By this time my nerves were rampant, but fortunately I recognised some familiar faces from the London Ultra and Newport parkrun and also sat next to a very kind and experienced ultra runner on the coach whose plan was to be back in Bristol by teatime in order to take down a marquee.

We arrived in Brecon with time to spare, and I wandered round chatting to people and working out which bits of my kit it was safe to leave.  Keith suggested leaving my entire pack, but that was just a touch too radical for me.

Travelling light

Travelling light

Section 1 – sociable

After going off far too fast at the London Ultra, I was determined not to do the same thing here, so started at the back of the pack. For the first 25 minutes, I ran with David who was adopting a time-based run/walk strategy, and shortly after leaving him (my plan was terrain based) I met up with Frances, who writes the Renaissance Chic blog.

All of which made the first section seem like a fun run in glorious countryside on a spectacular day.

Section 2 – mercurial

You name it, I felt it. Positive, negative, smug, bored, lonely, happy, sad.

Straight after checkpoint one (slightly early at eight miles) came the slow, steady climb up to mile 13. I was still with Frances for this bit, so the climb itself was offset by the company and some spectacular views.

A spectacular view

A spectacular view

As we went over the top of the hill, I said farewell to Frances and took advantage of the slope to add some speed without increasing my effort.

The quarter-way point came and went (feeling strong, feeling smug) and the scenery was gorgeous (happy days) but I was running alone (bored now) and the odd “I’ve got to do that again three times” thought drifted into my head.

I stopped briefly at checkpoint 2 to top up my water, where I was overtaken by Peter, and then it was onto section 3.

Section 3 – faff, fidget and flag

Oh the palaver. I stopped to add some body glide to my bra strap where it was chafing due to my pack. I stopped to loosen my laces as my feet were starting to overheat and swell. I stopped to rearrange my jacket which had started to flap irritatingly against my legs. And my definition of a runnable hill started to contract markedly as the day became warmer and warmer.

But I caught up with Peter just shy of checkpoint 3 and this boost was amplified by an outpouring of twitter love which lifted my spirits and made me think that section 4 could be the best yet.

How wrong can one person be?

Section 4 – bloody long

I left checkpoint 3 with a runner called Chris, and we’d gone about half a mile down the path when we spotted two people, one on the path and one in the ditch. As we got closer we realised that there was a third person there, a cyclist who had taken a nasty tumble and who was bleeding profusely from cuts to his face and head. While the two good Samaritans called for an ambulance, first aider Chris helped to keep the injured man calm and checked for other injuries. Meanwhile I remained on the path reassuring passing runners (including Peter and Frances) that the situation was under control and that yes they should carry on with a clear conscience.

The four of us stayed with the cyclist and his wife (who had been a little way ahead of him at the time he’d come a cropper) until they left in the ambulance, after which Chris and I continued on.

I ran with Chris for a while, but although the impromptu stop had given me a useful rest, for Chris, already suffering from cramp, it was the beginning of the end. By now my “walk the ups” strategy had morphed into a “walk the sunny sections” one as I was wilting in the heat, but I did gradually start to catch up with some of the runners who had passed as we waited for the ambulance.

Halfway through this section my Garmin bowed out and I lost all sense of time and distance. I was buoyed by a wonderful cyclist who adopted a stretch of the trail to support and who cheered and encouraged with gusto. I caught up with a battered and bruised Frances, who had also taken a tumble, and gratefully slowed down to walk with her to checkpoint 4. Which was just around the corner. Wasn’t it? Surely it must be soon. Oh for pity’s sake where is it? Is that it? No. How about that? No. We are still on the right route aren’t we? Surely we must be. Oh yes there’s a marker arrow. Where. Is. This. Checkpoint?

Aha! There! Yay!

Section 5 – leapfrog

By now most of the runners in my immediate vicinity were walking with the odd run thrown in so this section was a game of leapfrog. I’d pass a walker on one of my runs only to be passed back by them on my next walk. A few shady downhills allowed for some extended runs but the last five miles stretched on and on and on. By this point I was walking almost exclusively, though I was managing just enough running to keep up with the two runners ahead / behind / ahead of me. I tweeted Sue to say where I was and give her an ETA and then saw a sight even more welcome than that of checkpoint 4. Sue on her bike come to guide me home.

I’d love to say that I ran the last two miles, but I didn’t. I did however run far more of them than I would have done without her. And eventually, just shy of twelve hours after setting off, I finished.

Cardiff ultra the end

Yay!

And I’ve already entered my next race – the inaugural Downslink Ultra 38 in October.

*And walked. And crawled.

**Garmin DNFd

***including the amazing @suejonze who invited me to stay with her and then proceeded to mother me beautifully.

****I’ll leave you to decide where this statement sits on the truth scale.

About abradypus

A Bradypus or Sloth am I, I live a life of ease, contented not to do or die but idle as I please; ... [Michael Flanders and Donald Swann]
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Cardiff Ultra

  1. Andy says:

    Congratulations once again. I assumed that pic was the before not after shot – as you are still standing rather than being flat on your back! Amazing.

  2. Shaz says:

    How good do you look? Amazing effort to move continually for ‘just shy of 12 hours’ well done.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Absolutely, stonkingly, wonderfully amazing run! Am v v impressed. Well done. And can’t believe how good you looked at the end. Truly inspiring.

  4. runningman856 says:

    Absolutely fantastic. What a brilliant experience. I am truly in awe. Well done you!

  5. cmmercer says:

    congratulations Louise! I am so glad you had a good day – there is nothing wrong with a spot of walking!!

    I am intrigued by the downs link race! I love the downslink and do a lot of my training on it. Might have to sign up for this! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Ealing Eagles 10K | fairweatherrunner

  7. Wow, amazing amazing amazing! Well done and congratulations. Looks like you enjoyed it too from your photo!

  8. You are an inspiration to us all, sorry about my ‘clucking hen’ impersonation 🙂

  9. MovingAlong says:

    Inspirational and completely fantastic. Well done 😀

  10. Abradysis says:

    🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉
    🍷🍷🍷🍷🍷🍷🍷

  11. femmerun says:

    Fabulous! Would be interested in seeing your training plan if that’s not too rude.

    • abradypus says:

      It’s not rude, but it’s not as simple a request as it sounds. I am coached by Centurion Running, so my training plan magically updates itself to fit in around my schedule and the races that I enter. That means that I don’t have a 16 week to a 50 miler plan, as such, as the training for The London Ultra bled into the training for Bideford Half which blurred into the training for Brighton Marathon which flowed seamlessly into the training for Cardiff.

      Within that, there has been a gradual increase in my basic weekly mileage from about 20 miles a week last July when I started training with Centurion to about 40 miles a week now. Training is varied enough to be interesting, features both road and trail and every week has a mixture of hard (interval / hill / tempo), long and recovery runs. And parkrun. Every week has parkrun. Coz I like parkrun.

  12. zoecakes says:

    Amazing effort and a good samaritan to boot! Well done 🙂

  13. abradypus says:

    You are all too kind! (but thank you)

  14. helsieboo says:

    You amazing and wonderful lady. I met a friend tonight and told her how inspiring you were and then I read this on the bus home and it made me cry! Incredible. Well done x

  15. ‘Awesome’ is a word that is very much overused, in my opinion. But not by me.

    THAT was awesome!

    Seriously well done.

  16. Frances says:

    Amazing effort! Still in awe of you trotting off ahead of me at mile 40!!! It goes to show what careful and considerd pacing and common sense (together with grit and determination and masses of vaselene) can achieve! Hopefully I’ll meet you again at some point (race) in the future!!! X

  17. Pingback: Cardiff Ultra 2013 Results » Ultrarunning World

  18. JovialGnome says:

    You are quite simply amazing! I am in awe of you and how far you’ve come in such a short time and I’ve this horrible feeling that you may have convinced me that there out to be an ultra somewhere in my future plans……

    • abradypus says:

      I enjoyed this ultra more than my marathons – no pressure to run the hills 🙂

      If you do ever decide to try one, let me know and I might join you.

  19. plustenner says:

    great blog!! and what can I say about you other than you are an amazing inspiration to us all! xx

  20. Pingback: Grapevine, jumping jacks, star jumps…guess where I’ve been! | Fortnightflo

  21. warriorwoman says:

    Your spectacular view I pretty darn spectacular. Love the clouds.
    Well done.

  22. ewoodeson says:

    Gosh.
    Incredible. What an amazing achievement.
    Oh, and I’m not going to stop reading your blog. Sorry 😉

  23. sarah f says:

    Oh my goodness! You are AMAZING!! WELL DONE!!

  24. Saboohi says:

    Well came across your blog by chance! Well done. Incredible tale of your run and an a wonderful achievement. I did my second ever run this Saturday gone! Will never be able to do what you do but your blog, the way you write and your stories are inspiring! So might keep at the park run for a while yet!

  25. Melee says:

    An inspiring story, well related!

  26. Pingback: South Downs Way 50 | abradypus

Leave a Reply

